Shots, Shots, Shots, Shots, Shots, SHOTS! (#JuneJour Challenge, Day 13)

Hello, all!

A little background:

Ever since I turned 21, it felt as if the possibilities just opened up for me. Concerning…a particular little drink that we like to call…alcohol.

Whoa, whoa, whoa, back up…

I’m not saying that I’ve become an alcoholic within a span of three months. In fact, I’m very particular when it comes to booze. For the taste and (occasional) buzz, not hammered, plastered, whatever you want to call it. ‘Cause honestly, that would scare the shit out of me.

But what I’ve gotten out of these last, brief months have been indelible. I’ve quickly learned to distinguish tastes between drinks, as well as discover my favorites. All you have to know is that I like ’em mixed. 😛

I’ve been out to restaurants, ordered, and had my fair share of different concoctions. Some were good, some were regrettable. But, almost every time, I thought to myself: I could make this. Seriously, spending $12 on a glass of wine is like robbery, especially when you could just have it at home. Same goes for cocktails.

So I’ve been experimenting at home; for some very strange reason, my family has a huge-ass bottle of Tito’s Homemade Vodka sitting in the fridge (I recall that it was given to us as a Christmas present a few years ago? Bizarre.). None of us really drinks, let alone a large bottle of vodka. What I’ve done in the past few weeks was mixing it with a variety of things, notably fruit. ‘Cause really- who doesn’t like a shot or two of cold, refreshing, fruit-infused vodka? I know I do.

Without further ado, I present to you two of my creations: the strawberry-banana vodka and the peach-lychee vodka (I have yet to come up with more creative titles). They are so simple to make; literally, you only need those said ingredients- nothing else. And I’m sorry that I don’t have any pictures of the drinks- they were so good, I finished them before I could snap a photo. I guarantee you they are delicious, though! Cheers! 🙂

1. Strawberry-Banana Vodka (makes 10-13 shots; I had overestimated the quantity it would yield, so I gave some to my friends)

1 banana (if you want more banana taste, add another)

a shit-ton of strawberries (around 7-10)

5 shots vodka

Cut up the banana(s) and strawberries. Toss them into a blender. Add the vodka. Blend until smooth. Pour and serve immediately (or put in the fridge for later). I didn’t do this with my drink, but I would recommend using a sieve to remove the strawberry seeds, in order to have a nice, smooth beverage. Just strain the drink through it, and use the back of a spoon to press the liquid through.

2. Peach-lychee vodka (Makes 4-5 shots)

1 peach (or nectarine), pitted and cut into chunks

7-10 lychees, peeled and pitted

2 shots vodka

Place everything into the blender. Blend. Strain the mixture through a sieve, to remove bits of the peach skin (or, peel the peach beforehand, to make life less complicated. I know I didn’t 😛).

So there you go! Have fun, and of course, drink responsibly! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

