I’m Going to France?! (#JuneJour Challenge, Day 15)

Hello!

Yes, you read right: I AM GOING TO FRANCE! Yes, yes, yes! Oh my God, I’ve been waiting for this moment for months, and now it’s happening! 😀

For the month of July, I will be in Paris, living it up. And studying…but that comes secondary 😉 I will live with a host family while there, and I have already gotten in touch with them; I am looking forward to seeing them soon. And I have so many things that I want to do in the city that I don’t know where to begin! Oh well: I’ll just figure it out once I arrive.

So you might ask several things: why are you going to Paris? Why Paris? What do you plan to do there for over a month?

Excellent questions!

As you might know (or not), I am minoring in French at my university. And every year, the French Department hosts a Travel Study program to Paris; we, as students, have the opportunity to earn credit for our studies while experiencing first-hand French culture, in France. It’s really great. And yes, my school offers programs in other cities like Lyon, but I chose Paris, because it’s famous and there’s this sort of…magnetic charm that I want to experience. Clichés like “The City of Love” and “City of Lights” just makes it all the more attractive. I don’t care if Paris is overrated- I’m excited to go.

And what I’m planning to do? Aside from taking classes for my school, I have plenty of time to go out and explore the city. I have a general idea of what I want to see and do, especially places like the Eiffel Tower (obviously- you haven’t lived ’til you see it), the Latin Quarter, Montmartre, the Louvre, the Musée d’Orsay, and perhaps Versailles (that is, if I can get someone to come with me that far…). Besides famous hot-spots, I also want to…eat. I love to eat, and I know that I will gain weight on this trip, but agh, the food…the French food! The French people are, in fact, known for their gastronomy, especially the high-end eateries and all. I doubt that I will blow my money for Michelin-starred restaurants, but I would like to at least taste the bread- I have heard that it’s phenomenal.

That concludes my (excited) ramblings on something that hasn’t happened yet, but will happen soon. God, I haven’t even started packing yet- and I leave tomorrow! Thank goodness I made a list- otherwise, I would forget something and be a hot mess when I land in Charles de Gaulle.

Before I forget: since I will be travelling, exploring, going to school and all while there, I will, unfortunately, be unable to blog every day, starting today. However, I will still make an effort to post once, maybe even twice a week, and update you on what I’ve learned abroad. I am thinking about starting a series (like this JuneJour Challenge now) in which I blog about France and its culture, food, monuments, and things like that. Who knows; we’ll see. If you want to talk to me, don’t hesitate! Feel free to comment or like, and for sure follow me on WordPress to get the latest adventures in Paris!

Ah, really…I must go pack now. Thank you all, and I will catch you soon! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

