What’s Your “Type?” (40-D Challenge, Day 2)

Hello, all!

I was digging through some of my old stuff today at home when I came across an old quiz that I took while in high school. It was the Myers-Briggs test for my AP Psychology course, and man, it brought back the memories.

So what is this Myer-Briggs test? The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a questionnaire that intends to measure our psychological perceptions in the world and our decision-making processes. You answer “yes” or “no” to a handful of statements that are suppose to reflect/not reflect your character, and you are given a four-letter “type” that embodies your personality. These four types can be broken down into dichotomies: for instance, you can either be:

“E” (for extroverted) or “I” (introverted).

“S” (sensing) or “N” (intuition).

“T” (thinking) or “F” (feeling).

“J” (judging) or “P” (perception).

As I read my results from when I was 17, I wondered if I had stayed the same, or changed since then. It inspired me to go back and retake the test.

So I went online, retrieved the link (remarkably, it still worked!), and retook the test.

The results? A slight change from now and then. My current “type” is ISTJ, which means 1) I’m introverted (and from the percentages, a very expressed introvert), 2) sensing, which means I prefer working with tangible and concrete information, rather than abstract, 3) thinking, which implicates observing from a detached, logical, and consistent perspective, and 4) judging, which goes hand-in-hand with thinking/feeling; since I am a “TJ” (thinking and judging), I appear to the world as logical.

You can say that I am a robot, because of my lack of feeling and empathy displayed in these four, little letters. 😛

I partly kid, but really, the Myers-Briggs test should not be taken as a serious indicator of one’s personality. Only the person himself can know himself the best; he shouldn’t have to take a test to prove to others that he is this particular individual. Plus, these “Sixteen Types” (the maximum combinations for these four-letter personalities) are just too restrictive; there is a plethora of different kinds of people in this world, and we can’t box ourselves into these little cubby-holes of categories. We are subject to change, just as how I have slightly done so over these past few years as a young adult.

Simply put, the Myers-Briggs test is just for fun. Nothing else. If you are curious to find out your “type,” here is the link to the test: http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes1.htm

Take care!

– The Finicky Cynic

 

Leave a Reply

