Strong Opinions (40-D Challenge, Day 5)

Hello, all.

Today, I would like to discuss something that came up in the past two days. Specifically, on my blog.

A month or so ago, I had written a review for a short film and, while it didn’t garner much attention when I had published it, has now received an influx of attention in these past few days.

Why? I’m not quite sure. Perhaps the film had been shown at a film festival, or gained a lot of press in the media. Again, I don’t know.

But my point is, the attention that I have been receiving for my post has been…well, I wouldn’t say that it’s good. :/

Now I am fine with people who disagree with my opinion: it is okay if you happened to not like the film when I happened to enjoy it. It’s even acceptable to post comments about it with reasons on why you didn’t like it.

That is fine.

However, it is NOT fine when you start to criticize and make ridiculous claims that don’t even pertain to the film itself.

Like, whaaaaattttt?!!

Okay, so you think that the acting and screenplay wasn’t all that great. Fine. You’re entitled to that opinion. But to go off and speculate about the actress’s personal sex life (which I don’t actually see anywhere posted on her Twitter page; I confirmed) is just LOW. The lowest of low, the basest of base. Calling her “fugly” is childish as well.

Furthermore, these comments just don’t pertain to the film, which if you have forgotten, was the focus of that post I had written.

I am not defending the actress and the producers of the film. But what I am defending is my opinion of the film (I still believe it to be enjoyable) and the right to comment- with RELEVANCE and TACT. I’m only calling out those of you who are not doing so.

It’s sad; I see these hate comments everywhere: with films and TV, with Youtube, heck, even perfume lines! Criticism is one thing, but sabotaging is another.

So, let freedom (of speech) ring, but with limits. I’m watching you…

– The Finicky Cynic

UPDATE: Since this fiasco, I have stopped approving comments for my blog post. This has gotten way out of hand, and you all need to STOP.

3 thoughts on “Strong Opinions (40-D Challenge, Day 5)

  1. AZVHV.wordpress.com

    You have a really good point. There is hardly a thread on any subject, that running long enough, does not turn into a spitting match about something entirely off topic.

  2. I would hazard a guess to say they were just troll comments. Ignore them, unapprove them, and chances are they’ll get bored and go away.
    Best of luck, and thanks again for the link. 🙂

Leave a Reply

