You Know You’re Getting Old When… (40-D Challenge, Day 8)

Hello, all.

Now, I have been pondering about this recently, at times for a long while: where did my childhood go? It seems that, at some point in these past five years, I’ve aged. And now this time, I can actually feel it happening.

What do I mean by this? Well, ever since I started college, I have experienced some rough things that have tested me as an individual. Specifically, it has tested my youth- my ability to hold myself together despite all of the trauma.

I’m not going to go into depth about what happened exactly during the course of my college years, but I will say that, while I’ve gone through it mostly unscathed, some incidents still stay with and haunt me. Things aren’t simple anymore, and it can be quite scary.

From this, it inspired me to create a brief list of things that indicate a sort of end to your youth. Some are funny, some not. Maybe you can relate, maybe you won’t.

Without further ado…

You know you’re getting old when…

  • You work a 9-to-5 job. Even on weekends.
  • You’ve traded in beer for wine as your drink of choice on the weekends.
  • You feel the need to throw back and crack your back/neck before getting up in the morning.
  • Stairs become murderous to your joints.
  • That one bite of cheesecake fills out a stomach pooch.
  • You’ve noticed that you have love-handles (probably from that cheesecake).
  • Those forehead creases don’t disappear like they used to.
  • Sun protection has never been so important until now (you never leave the house without putting on sunscreen, sunglasses, and a hat. You are seriously thinking about investing in a sumbrella and arm sleeves).
  • Late-night partying/staying up no longer seems fun; you would much rather turn in at 10 pm instead of 2 am.
  • Your friends start getting married, settling down, and having kids. Without you.

Ah, the struggle…

– The Finicky Cynic

4 thoughts on “You Know You’re Getting Old When… (40-D Challenge, Day 8)

  1. Haha! I was definitely nodding along to all of these – the back snapping, the choosing wine over beer (yuck! How did I ever drink beer?) The thinking partying until 10am is ‘hardcore’.

    What ever happened to us?!

    And I guess those aches and pains will only gets more intense, as will the hangovers (those dreaded hangovers!)

    Fun post! Made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

