Love/Relationships in College (40-D Challenge, Day 15)

Hello, folks! 🙂

So today, I thought that I would discuss something that has been in the back of my mind for the last couple of weeks. Namely, I want to talk about something that a friend of mine has confessed to me about over romantic relationships while in college.

Now first things first, we go to different universities; we met in high school, and although our friendship has had its rough moments over the years, we still are fairly close, talking on a regular basis a couple times a month, whether it is through Facebook, text, or Skype.

She’s a good friend, super sweet, but at times I can’t stand it when she talks about love. In other words, she wants a relationship, and she wants it instantly. She wants a guy to be with, to protect her and make her feel less lonely. She wants her first kiss because, God forbid, she’s almost twenty and hasn’t had her first kiss yet!

It really tries my patience, this constant talk about getting a boyfriend and everything. I can see that she wants to find love, and that’s fine (don’t we all?). But the way she conveys it to me sounds…desperate. She says she isn’t “thirsty,” but her words show otherwise. I mean, how low do you have to go until you start using Tindr? The whole concept of finding love online sounds completely crazy, not to forget creepy, to me.

At first, I thought it was cute that she was telling me all of these things, scoping out “hot guys” on campus and being girly and all. But it got annoying pretty quickly, as she continued to bombard me with “I want a relationship, I want a relationship” texts every time we talked.

Recently, she told me that she’s in a relationship. My first, honest reaction was skepticism (like, really?), then it was scorn (all right, go for it).

But who am I to judge? Who am I to tell her that she’s being love-hungry and that it makes her appear pathetic?

Maybe this is when our philosophies diverge. Granted, we are different people with different lives and interests; I don’t agree with some things she believes in, and vice versa. From this, our perspectives on love are dissimilar: she’s looking for love, and I’m just letting love find me. If it happens, it happens, and until then, I don’t care. It doesn’t matter that I’m in my twenties and I haven’t been kissed yet. Cheesy as it sounds, I’m just waiting for the right person, the right moment for everything to come together as one.

I don’t mean for this post as means of insulting my friend. Really, it’s not (so don’t kill me if you happen to read this, dear). I’m just trying to let you (singular and collective) know my thoughts on relationships- in college, in life. I just have different ideas on what it means to love, to experience a bond with someone other than with your friends, family, yourself.

In other words, I wish you well in your endeavors in the dating world. Just condense it a bit, all right? ❤

– The Finicky Cynic

 

Leave a Reply

