#Reconnect (40-D Challenge, Day 21)

Hello, hello.

How are you? Doing well? That’s great to know!

I just wanted to ask how you were doing, because I want you to know that you are loved. ❤

Why am I saying all of this? Well, this has to do with something that came up a few days ago. (Brace yourself for story-time in 3…2…1…):

You see, I have this friend; we became friends in middle school, and stayed until high school. We were part of the same, intimate circle of friends, always doing stuff together, hanging out, and whatnot. You could say that we were quite close.

We (collective “we,” meaning friends) would always hitch ourselves over to her house almost every Christmas holiday, enjoying each other’s company over carols, cookie making, and Dance Dance Revolution sessions. That continued until our final year in high school.

She also offered her home (and ride) during Prom Night. Forget fancy limousines: the dark-blue sedan was where the party’s at! It was a blast.

We graduated from high school, and attended different universities. She was the only one out of all of us to go out-of-state.

And that was cool; we started our first year, and still had time to hang out in the summer after that.

But then…things changed.

I don’t know what happened, but…she stopped. Answering our emails, going on Facebook, even Tumblr! We would send her “Happy Birthday” wishes and other random things from time to time, but she wouldn’t respond.

Three years passed. My friends and I continued to hang out during the holidays and summer break. But a gap needed to be filled in with her presence. At each gathering, we would always reflect on where she was, how she was doing, etc.

We continued with our lives, on and on until, one day (just a couple of days ago, actually), I was on Facebook and- wow!- I saw the little green circle on the Chat saying that she was online! My heart quickened, and I jumped on it: I popped open the chat bar, and wrote “You’re back!!! How are you?”

And she responded! I was so afraid to believe that it was all a hoax, and that Facebook was messing with me, but my God, she replied! Our conversation was brief, but regardless it was so great to talk to her again. 🙂

She said that she’s been well, busy with school and all. We are making plans to meet up again (with the rest of our friends) sometime over Spring Break. Which may or may not happen, but I will do my best to arrange this situation.

Connect and reconnect. Friendships lost then found. I’m so glad that ours was recovered. ❤

– The Finicky Cynic

P.S. My challenge to you: find a friend who you haven’t seen or talked to in a long time and reconnect with them! Anything, from a phone call to a simple “I miss you” email, can start something anew. 🙂

One thought on “#Reconnect (40-D Challenge, Day 21)

Leave a Reply

