Letter to My Sixteen-Year-Old Self (The Daily Post Challenge)

Inspired by The Daily Post Challenge‘s writing prompt (which can be found here: Good Tidings), I’ve decided to write a letter to my sixteen-year-old self.

However, that’s where I start to fudge the prompt a bit: I’m not meeting my past self for coffee, nor am I writing to her ten years later. But I do like the basic structure of TDPC’s prompt, so I’m going to roll with it.

Let’s go!

Dear Sixteen-Year-Old Me,

Hello! You’re reading the letter of your future, twenty one-year-old self. And before you start to freak out, no, don’t worry: you’re not hallucinating. I assure you that you’re not crazy. I know how time travelling and mind-tripping TV shows are all the rage these days, especially Doctor Who (or have you not heard of the show yet?).

Anyway, I just wanted to talk to you. See what’s up with you and your life. How’s high school treating you? I know that you’re probably in the middle of a shitty time with that blasted AP United States History class (don’t worry; I assure you that it will get better. A LOT better).

How’s cross-country practice? I know that it’s hard to keep up with the team, especially after a long summer of vacationing and not having the opportunity to stay in shape. But don’t sweat it (pun unintended). And please, please, please don’t overdo it. I won’t go deeper into it, but… just don’t go too fast. Sometimes, it’s okay to slow down.

I know that you’re going through some rough times this year, and I just want to let you know that it’s okay. Vague as it sounds, things will get better. Really. Come around spring time, and things will come together. It just sucks that you have to deal with the crappy part now. Then again, though, the fall and winter seasons are typically depressing times for students. Even in college. 😛

Oh yeah, you probably want to know how I am doing in college. As of right now, I’m doing well. If you were to ask me two years ago, or even just last year in the Fall, then my answer would probably have been slightly different. No, correction: significantly different. Again, I won’t spoil it for you; I want you to have at least a hint of oblivion so that you aren’t going in completely prepared. This is to ensure that you will still experience the twists and turns of adulthood, but hopefully more of the pleasant ones.

But what I’ll say is this: keep your mind open, especially with your major, what you want to study in college. Because what you think you want to do now (and the same goes to your friends and classmates) may not necessarily be what it is four, five years from now.

It’s a shame that you aren’t taking French this year. I know you would have preferred that over your Pre-Calculus class (which is a huge joke, and you know it). I forgot, but have you had the time to write poetry? I think you have potential in it, and I encourage you to continue with it!

If you ask if I’m a different person compared to you now (as a sixteen-year-old), then yes. I say yes. People naturally change, anyway, even if it’s subtle. I see classmates (well, your classmates) now on Facebook (still exists, and more popular than ever!), and some have really changed. And for the better. It’s inspiring, in a way, and it makes me feel happy for them.

Stay close with your friends. And I assure you that, in the following year, you will make friends with another batch of students, but still continue to hang out with old ones. Hold fast to them, and don’t let go.

I’ve noticed that this letter’s getting rather long, and I know it’s all over the place, but essentially, I just want to say that you are loved. I love you, even if it’s myself in the past. Not a narcissist, though!

In any case: have faith, stay optimistic, and again, things will get better.

Take care.

– The Finicky Cynic

P.S. I’ve also written a letter to my future self, which can be found here: Dear Future Me…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Letter to My Sixteen-Year-Old Self (The Daily Post Challenge)

  1. Well, this letter was as touching as the first one. Written with such a different language and style, which you would to a sixteen year old. Ha! But still such love. What an amazing person it show you to be. They make us cry actually.
    Don’t you wish sometimes you could actually write a letter back? This is actually a perfect one I think because you do not give away too much information, but just enough advice. Just really loved it. -alex

Leave a Reply

