Habits…I Need to Change!

Hello, all!

By a show of hands, how many of you all do the following:

  1. Waking up at the crack of dawn to your alarm clock every morning.
  2. Furrowing or wrinkling your face in concentration, confusion, etc.
  3. Checking your email/social media account fifty times a day, give or take. 😛

If you see yourself as doing all of the above, then congratulations. You are part of the millions of people in this nation who are victims to this kind of every day living. Truly, the essence of the American Dream…

Really, though, these are habits. And usually seen as not-so-good ones. I admit, I do these exact same things almost every single day, if not every day, every hour, every minute. They are not good, and man, I need to stop.

I know, I know: the common saying “old habits die hard” is ever present. Seriously, we are addicted to doing these three things. Some time when we were younger, we started doing them because everyone else was, and we have never looked back since. It’s horrible, I am aware of it.

But I can do this. I can change. I’ve done it before in the past (successfully), and I can set out to do it again. I’m determined to make things right: for my health, for my life.

Here is what I propose:

  1. Stop waking up to my alarm clock. Yeah, I know it sounds bad; you’re probably thinking “What?! Then how will you make it to school on time?!” Let me be more specific: naturally, I am an early riser; I’m not sure if it’s due to the fact that I’ve been setting my alarms early for years and waking up early because of them (even on weekends when I don’t usually use the clock), but in any case I should be fine. Many of my classes don’t begin until late morning, almost noon. So it’s all good (most likely). Really, just waking up naturally feels so much better. It’s been scientifically proven…by me, that is. 😉
  2. Stop furrowing/wrinkling my face, my eyebrows, forehead. I know that I’m getting old, but it’s much too early to already have permanent wrinkles on my forehead, smile lines near my mouth, and deep creases between my eyes. It’s not necessary to always scrunch up my face whenever I’m confused or in concentration; I can just let my face rest as is.
  3. Stop checking emails fifty times a day. Granted, I get a lot of messages from everywhere in the Internet world, from school to work to WordPress notifications. 😉 But, like, I’m not that popular. Seriously, I don’t think that there will be a difference within 5 minutes of lasting checking your inbox. Which I’ve actually seen people do on their phones, which is really sad. So instead of logging into my account ten times a day (I think that’s how many times I do so, on average), I will aim for two, at most three times a day. If I can get it down to one, I’m on a roll. We’ll see how it goes!

I challenge YOU, whoever reads this post, to list your bad habits, and set goals to combat them. Let me know! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

