New Year’s Resolutions…

Hello, folks!

Ah, 2015 is officially upon us and with that comes the resolutions. New Year’s resolutions, that is: losing weight, eating less junk food, practicing mindfulness meditation, etc. etc. While all that’s good, one can’t help but think it is rather…unrealistic. Especially if you say these things but don’t actually do them. Or you do so for a month and then immediately drop it. You talk the talk, but don’t walk the walk.

But I’m not completely rejecting the idea of resolutions. Truth be told, there is some merit in having goals. They motivate you to become a better person, and even if they don’t work out, at least you made the effort.

So here is a list of *goals* that I’ve come up with to follow in 2015. From the general to the personal, I have all here. Voilà! 🙂

1. Cut down on carbs. This ain’t the Atkins diet or anything, but rather my own belief. It’s going to be a challenge to do so, considering that I love all things carb: pasta, rice, bread, you name it. But what I’ve found is that whenever I eat these sort of foods, I tend to get this kind of…heaviness in my stomach afterwards. Makes me sluggish, a bit lethargic- not a pleasant feeling. And I’ve discovered that when I don’t eat them and just stick to vegetables, fruit, and some meat, I feel much better. So I won’t completely eliminate carbs from my lifestyle, but rather keep my cravings curbed.

2. Sit less, move more. I’ve heard somewhere that, as humans, we weren’t born to sit. Or rather, be couch potatoes day in, day out. I’ve also heard that sitting for long periods of time increases one’s chances of developing heart disease and fat, even though one regularly exercises and everything. In this day and age of technology, we are doing more computer work than ever, and so we’re accustomed to sitting. But I want this to change for me, so I intend to take small steps to sit less and move more, e.g. get up every 30 minutes to 1 hour and walk around/stretch/exercise.

3. Shut up, hold my tongue from saying acerbic, critical things. I’m not saying that I should completely stay silent from debates or conversations. But I do have a tendency to get, erm, extremely passionate when it comes to topics that touch me. Which sometimes lead to some harsh statements that might offend others. I feel bad afterwards, too. It’s not always necessary to take everything so hard or personal; sometimes one has to just let it slide and not really care about it.

4. Open up, smile more, look more approachable. In other words, overcome my shyness and anxiety in social situations. You may not know this, but I am timid, even painfully so at times. I don’t know what to do in social situations, except look uncomfortable. Thankfully, it has changed a bit for the better when I started college: I was pretty open during my second and third years, but since then I think that I’ve…regressed a bit. Became more drawn in and less open to socializing. I want to return to that state of openness this year, and so I will not let my anxiety get a hold of me that much (as well as not be afraid of what others think).

5. Devote some time every day to French. Even if it’s just 10 minutes of watching Youtube videos of French vloggers. I want to keep this language up, because I’m so attached to it now. I have plans associated with France and French culture in the future (hopefully!), and so I can’t stop now. Practice speaking more as well, make an effort to participate in discussion in my weekly language circle. I plan to improve, and I will make it happen.

6. Write more poetry. Granted, I’ve been writing poetry since I was fourteen, but it wasn’t until these last few years that I’ve started to take it seriously. Especially now in college, there are plenty of opportunities, from clubs to class workshops, to hone in on the craft. I love it, and when I’m not writing, I devote my time to re-reading favorite poets and discovering new ones. Perhaps I’ll attend a poetry jam/slam sometime this year. But in any case, I want to continue exploring and learning from it. Poetry is, quite literally, my life. ❤

7. Save, save, save. Money, electricity, anything. I’m an adult, and I’ve been one for a while now, but I still continue to rely on my parents for these kind of expenses. Until I graduate, I stay dependent on them. But my time is almost up, and in a few months I am pretty much on my own. That’s why I want to start now, becoming more independent, slowly breaking away from having to burden my parents. Again, I am starting small, saving money instead of spending it on frivolous things. Getting a job, even if in the short-term. Little things like that can go a long way.

8. Take care of my body more. Goes hand-in-hand with #1, but here I mean it more generally. For instance, applying more sunscreen when going out and/or swimming to prevent additional moles and skin cancer, stop wrinkling my face to avoid unnecessary (and unattractive) wrinkles, cutting down on sugar to stave off tooth decay, preventing breakouts by taking care of my skin and face, etc. You know, small steps to stay healthy.

9. Blog *relatively* every day. Realistically, I can’t blog every day for the whole year: with school, club activities, work, family, and everything, there are many circumstances that can prevent me from accessing the computer and writing. Sometimes, I might not even be inspired, or have anything to say (which is rare, I tell you, but still might happen). But I will try to be consistent; I admit that I’ve become quite attached to WordPress over this past year, and I have no plans of stopping. Especially with scheduling posts and all, it makes it all the easier to keep up blogging. So look out for my posts in the future!

10. Be happy. I’ve always had this resolution since I was young. While general and vague, being happy is a kind of feel-good mantra that, at least for me, inspires me to try and try again to live my day-to-day life better. It’s not good to be constantly wallowing in misery, a “poor-me” state that doesn’t go anywhere. Trust me, I know people who are like that, and I find that ridiculous. I know it’s impossible to be happy all of the time, and sometimes a bit of sadness can be stimulating. But I try to surround myself with good things for the most part, and in retrospect, it works. Looking back on 2014, I would have to say that it was a good year, and I plan to make 2015 just as good, if not better, than that.

So that’s all for my New Year’s resolutions for 2015! What are yours? In any case, have a great day- and a great year! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions…

  1. You’re in France! You can’t cut down on carbs 😛 True story: when I lived in France I ate what I wanted and did little in the way of actual exercise, but I actually lost weight that year. I think it was from walking/lugging suitcases everywhere + smaller portions of really amazing food. I miss it!

  2. I love your resolutions! You know, it’s a common belief that if you don’t keep your resolutions, you’re somewhat of a failure. I don’t believe that at all! I think that if make ten resolutions, and manage to keep just one of them, you’re a winner right there because you’ve made a positive change in your life. How many people can say that? I wish you success for this 2016!

Leave a Reply

