March Madness!

…and no, I’m not talking about the NCAA college basketball tournament.

What I’m talking about is that it’s finally March! Yay! 😀

I know, it’s just another month, but for me, the month of March has a personal significance. Why, you may ask? 

Well, for one thing, it’s my birthday month! Yes, my birthday’s in March and I enjoy the fact that it takes place around the springtime, when outside is beginning to bloom flowers and overall lighten up from the dreary gloom of winter (even though winter is my favorite season, but…). Really, things just seem…brighter and more optimistic during this time, and so I look forward to it with passion.

Another thing is that, at least in college, my Spring Break falls within the month of March. Granted, it’s only a week off from school, but still, it’s a nice breather from the stress and excitement of academia, without it being too long and boring like the summer or too short like the three-day weekend holidays of MLK, Veteran’s Day, and whatnot (and I’ve come to realize that I’m not a huge fan of three-day weekends anymore, especially since the rest of the week’s schedule is compressed and packed into four short days of high-level stress. Just from my experience). In fact, I’m actually going to be doing quite a bit of traveling this Spring Break, at once going outside of my state and staying local. I will definitely keep you all updated with my holiday plans when they roll along!

Also, I personally associate March with the color green. Perhaps it’s because I grew up knowing about St. Patrick’s Day, and all of that jazz about four-leaf clovers, gold at the end of the rainbow, and wearing green to avoid getting pinched at school (which now has become marked as harassment, and to that I say “duh!”). Green is my favorite color, so it all works out. 🙂

Other things: Pi Day, which falls on 3/14 (to represent its numerical value 3.141592…), is absolutely brilliant. Back in high school, my math class (and the entire campus, in fact) would put on a pie sale kind of deal, since the word “pie” is a homophone for the math term “pi.” And this year is particularly special, because the date, 3/14/15, adds on to the actual value of the symbol (i.e. 3/14/15–> 3.1415, the first four digits after the decimal). Really, it’s a delicious (and informative!) day.

This sort of goes back to the Spring Break kind of deal, but March is also the month when we end for the school’s Winter term. After a stressful last two, three weeks of papers, finals, and more papers, it’s over. Thank God. That feeling you get once you finish your last final, or submit your last paper to the professor…ah yes, it’s magical. 🙂

I’m going way too long about March, gushing over it. Basically, what I’m trying to say is that I like the month, and so expect to see the best of me this month. On WordPress, in life.

With that, take care!

– The Finicky Cynic

2 thoughts on “March Madness!

  1. Pingback: Allison’s random thoughts (3/3/2015 edition) | Allison M.

Leave a Reply

