Things I Learned in College: Spring Break

Hello, all!

With my *final* college Spring Break in full-swing, I thought that I would talk about it for my post today. πŸ™‚

Throughout my primary, secondary, and post-secondary education, I’ve always looked forward to Spring Break, even more than the summer’s or winter’s. I don’t know exactly why, but I believe that it has something to do with the duration of the break- meaning, how many days/weeks/months the vacation lasts. Personally, I find summer break (3+ months) too long; I get bored quickly, at home and even on travels with the family (’cause there are some down times when there is nothing to do). I find winter breaks okay, being about two to three weeks long (a lot of eating, though). πŸ˜›

But with Spring Break, it has been my favorite type of vacation break. Being only a week or so long, it’s enough time to step back and take a breather from the stress of school and/or work, but not an excessive amount of time in that it would make you bored. It’s enough to meet up with old friends from your hometown for the day, as well as take a quick getaway somewhere local, or within the state or neighboring country. For a lot of my friends/colleagues, Las Vegas or CancΓΊn are popular destinations.

In the past, I’ve spent my Spring Breaks either in Las Vegas (but with my family), or just at home, lounging around and hanging out with friends. During my senior year of high school, I visited a couple of colleges before I decided where I wanted to accept.

This year, however, is a little different. In that I am doing more traveling than usual, compared to past Spring Breaks. Usually, I would just do some quick trip with the family, but this time, I’m doing (or did) two things: 1) my trip to Albuquerque with my college-colleagues over this past week (the post which you can find here: Adventures in Albuquerque!) and 2) a ride up to a quaint beach town along my state’s coast with my family. Gorgeous place; I’ve been there three times already, and it never gets old. Looking forward to it. πŸ™‚

Looking back, I’ve greatly appreciated Spring Break. Considering that this is my final year in college (in any formal schooling, really), it’s going to be weird when I won’t have this kind of opportunity after I graduate; my time will most likely be dedicated to work or something like that.

And that is why I’m taking this chance right now. To its fullest. And celebrate this last Spring Break with friends, family, everyone, you.

I wish you all a great Spring Break (that is, if you are still in school). If not, have a wonderful day! πŸ™‚

– The Finicky Cynic

2 thoughts on “Things I Learned in College: Spring Break

  1. So very true about spring break: Enjoyable yet not too long. Think of it as a time when you learn how to plan your time away from work (no months long summer vacations there).

Leave a Reply

