Happy Birthday! :D

Hello!

Yes, it’s my birthday today- YAY! πŸ˜€

It’s been another year of craziness, boringness, and everything in between. But it has been great, and I can’t believe that I’m another year older. DANG.

…and in case you were wondering, yes, I am officially now a strapping 22. Just like that Taylor Swift song, you know… πŸ˜›

In previous years, I would usually just celebrate at home with the family, just eating a cake and all. And let me tell you, I love me some good ol’ ice cream cake. Especially from Cold Stone’s, with their cookie dough ice cream cake. Man, that hit the spot… πŸ˜›

During some years, my birthday fell on a weekday (including now). In primary school, it would just be a simple saying of “Happy birthday” from my classmates, but nothing else. My Facebook Wall (or Timeline, now) would blow up with notifications from my “Friends.” Which is a kind thing to do, even if it’s really just a tiny blip in their day.

Last year when I became legal to drink, I went out with my best friend to lunch and got myself my first *legal* alcoholic beverage. I remembered that it was a marshmallow martini, which to me tasted more like chocolate and alcohol, rather than an actual s’mores-filled marshmallow. Not great, but not terrible.

Not certain what I’m planning to do this year. I had made arrangements to meet up with the same best friend for the day, but not one hundred percent sure. Otherwise, staying home and chilling with the family sounds good to me. Probably going to eat something small, a slice of pre-cut cake or something, and that’s that.

I realized that, as I get older, I don’t consider birthdays as being a big deal anymore. I don’t really see the appeal as much with the grand festivities, huge, towering cakes, and friends and family gathering around the candles to sing “Happy Birthday.” Now, I just want some quick acknowledgment from peers, perhaps a small cake, but that’s that. Nothing big. Perhaps it’s a sign of growing up, and knowing that, at a certain point, the numbers don’t matter. Age doesn’t matter.

I am getting too nostalgic and sentimental with this, so I’ll end it here. In any case, I wish myself a good birthday, a good day, and another year of prosperity and happiness. Take care! πŸ™‚

– The Finicky Cynic

24 thoughts on “Happy Birthday! :D

  1. Happy Birthday! I just turned 23 the day before yesterday, and I know exactly what you feel. Maybe it is a sign of (gasp!) growing up! :
    Hope you have a great day! πŸ˜€

  2. First off, happy birthday to you! πŸ˜€ When one gets older, their birthday does indeed begin to feel just like any other day; I should know, since I’ve had, uh, several of them. *LOL* But a card or phone call or e-mail of birthday wishes brings back those thrills you had as a kid. Whatever you do today, hope it’s a great day for you. (If you have ice cream cake, even better!) Happy birthday, girl! (And many more!) xoxo

  3. Ciara

    Hey my birthday was the 16th of this month. I turned 21 and I too didn’t feel like it was that big of a deal. Although I am in another country away from my friends and family…but anyway happy birthday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

