I Hate April Fools’!

Hey everyone, and happy May! I mean, March…hey, whaaattt??!!!

Oh.

Happy April, folks.

Yup, today marks the first day of April. Not only that, but it’s also April Fools’ Day. For those who don’t know and/or don’t celebrate it, April Fools’ is a day dedicated to playing jokes and tricks on others, whether it be friends, peers, family, or even complete strangers. From little things such as saying, “Your shoe-lace is untied” (when, in fact, it isn’t) to larger-scaled pranks like announcing a Swiss Spaghetti Harvest on television (which actually happened), nothing is taken seriously on this day of jest.

And I hate it.

Granted, I don’t mind a good joke here and there. But using the day to embarrass or victimize someone just doesn’t seem…nice. Even if the joke’s “harmless,” it enforces a sort of power dynamic between the joker and his/her victim. And I don’t like that.

Sometimes, it can be taken too far. I have heard that some Internet viruses take advantage of the day to spam and send malicious software streaming all over the cyber world, thus ruining millions of people’s computers, laptops, iPads, and whatnot. Not fun at all, especially in the long run.

I just never got the appeal of April Fools’ Day. Pranking each other, and for what? A second of self-gratification? Pleasure in fooling someone? Some people might use it as an opportunity to bully others, more so than other days, and get away with it. Really, it’s horrible.

And I know, I know. I shouldn’t sweat it, but what can I say? People have told me that I’m too serious and need to lighten up, but still, I hate surprises. Seriously (pun intended), I can’t wait until the day is over. 😛

Happy April Fools’…or not.

– The Finicky Cynic

9 thoughts on “I Hate April Fools’!

  1. Yes! Yes! A thousand times, yes! My male side is so serious (especially at work) that any April Fools Day joke I personally encounter never goes appreciated (especially at work). Speaking of work, I have to sit next to a “frat boy” pack of men who are not above throwing around Nerf balls, cracking loud jokes, etc. I shudder to think of what they may have in mind for each other (and anyone else) today.

  2. Pingback: Allison’s random stuff (no foolin’) | Allison M.

  3. Pingback: Q&A Time!!! – The Finicky Cynic

  4. Yeep pretty much! I’m off to work in a bit and working with the jokster who pulls pranks on every other day of the year so walking into work with caution today xP Totally get what you say about being called to serious, I’m the same way!

Leave a Reply

