An Escape to the Beach- Part 2

Hi, all!

Wow, it has been almost a week since my Spring Break, and I still haven’t told you about my vacation to the coast?! Dang, I’m behind…

In any case, yes, I went on a brief trip with my family to the Central Coast to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. It was a refreshing break from all of that stress and boredom being cooped up inside our home. We hadn’t gone back in over a year; I couldn’t wait to return.

We took the car, and drove all the way up to the beach city. Arrived there, checked into our lodging, and proceeded to take a stroll along the boardwalk in the late afternoon sun.

Now, it was our fourth time back, but still, the beauty of it all never ceases to amaze me. Granted, I actually live near the beach as well, but it’s…different. My hometown’s beach city is more…touristy. Always bustling with people swimming, surfing, playing volleyball, and strolling the boardwalk for souvenirs and eateries. It’s all too much, too loud, too hot for my taste. But with the getaway to the Central Coast, it’s much more…quiet. Peaceful. Not to say that it isn’t touristy as well, but the atmosphere definitely feels more slow-paced, serene. No swimmers, no surfers, no ships in sight; the cold wind and jagged rocks make it less apt for such things happen, anyway.

I am a city girl; I was born and bred in the city all of my life, and to get away from it all just felt so…wonderful. I love cold weather, and so the Central Coast wind was a nice breather from the smoke and pollution that I was so accustomed to while back at home. The rhythmic retract and crash of the white, foamy waves was a pleasure to hear. Admiring the teeming vegetation spilling over the sides of the boardwalk, filled with yellow, purple, white, and orange flowers, was a colorful sight to see. Little animals–squirrels, rabbits, seagulls–scampered or flew by, making the place their own. I even went down with my family a little way to see the larger elephant seals lazing about, taking naps on the cool, spring-time shore.

Everything was idle. And sometimes, it’s good to be idle. To step back from the commitments of “real life” (e.g. work, school) and just…exist. Sounds spiritual and all, but basically, just being in the present and observing the surroundings is a refreshing experience. I think we all ought to do it more in our daily lives, whether just taking a stroll around our neighborhood, or even just taking a break from work, closing our eyes, and relaxing in our thoughts.

Although I just returned from my trip, I am itching to go back again. With graduation and my future after school looming, it is uncertain when I can re-visit the place again. I hope, however, that I will return one day, and see it through a familiar, but also new perspective.

I leave you with a few of my photos from the vacation. Take care! 🙂

The coast.
The coast.
Rabbit!
Rabbit!
Seagull!
Seagull!
A view of the mountains.
A view of the mountains.

Down to the sand.
Down to the sand.

A view from below.
A view from below.

– The Finicky Cynic

TL;DR If you’re interested in my previous visit to the beach, here’s the post.

2 thoughts on “An Escape to the Beach- Part 2

Leave a Reply

