LGBT Films

Hi, all! ๐Ÿ™‚

As an individual who identifies with the LGBTQA community, I have had my fair share of viewing a good amount of LGBTQA films over the years, starting in my late teens.

Granted, even with the number of television shows, Youtube videos, and other media outlets beginning to acknowledge and accept individuals ofย the LGBTQA community, I still believe that not much advancement has been made in the film industry. Most of the movies which I’ve seen are of the indie/low-budget types, with relatively unknown (but not to say unqualified) actors and a sizable cult following (of which I would say that I am a part). ๐Ÿ˜›

In any case, I have categorized my list of LGBTQA films that I’ve seen as of now. You will notice that a good chunk is dedicated to the lesbian genre (mainly because I strongly identify with such community).

If you have any recommendations and/or other films to add, feel free to leave them in the Comments. I would be interested in discovering and checking them out someday! ๐Ÿ™‚

Gay-Themed Films

1. Milk (2008)

2. A Single Man (2009)

3. Brokeback Mountain (2005)

Lesbian-Themed Films

1. Imagine Me & You (2005)

2. Loving Annabelle (2006)

3. I Can’t Think Straight (2008)

4. Bloomington (2010)

5. Blue is the Warmest Color (2013)

6. Camp Belvidere (2014)

7. Elena Undone (2010)

8. The World Unseen (2008)

9. Claire of the Moon (1992)

Transsexual/Transgender Films

1. Ma vie en rose (1997)

2. Paris is Burning (1990)

3. Boys Don’t Cry (1998)

*Bonus* LGBTQA TV series

1. Will & Grace (1998-2006)

2. The L Word (2004-2009)

3. Lip Service (2010-2012)

– The Finicky Cynic

6 thoughts on “LGBT Films

  1. theboygirlgenre

    I’ll throw a few gay male-themed films your way:)

    1. Shelter (2007): a really, really cute love story that takes place on the SoCal coast.

    2. An Early Frost (1985): early AIDS film. It is a TV movie, a type very popular during the 1970s an 1980s. Good acting for a TV movie.

    3.GBF (2013): Clueless-type teen comedy. Closeted gay student gets outed by “Guydar” app. There’s just something throwback about it that I love.

    In the lesbian category, I recommend But I’m a Cheerleader (1999). Wacky and just fun.

    And, generally, I have too many favorite LGBT films to list!

Leave a Reply

