Things I Learned in College: Meeting People…

Hellooo…

Now, if you go to a big college like myself (or any sized college, for that matter), then you are bound to run into hundreds (even thousands) of students. Crazy, huh?

And with that many people on campus, you’re also more than likely to run into a few familiar faces in classes, in clubs, even in the bathroom. 😛

Sometimes, you will talk to them and by the end of the term, you’re already best friends for life. Some others you won’t say a word to, and when you see them again next term for another class, it’s…well, awkward. Awkward eye contact: maybe he/she recognizes you, maybe he/she doesn’t. You don’t know whether to smile or not, because if you do, there’s a chance that it might not be reciprocated, and then you feel underwhelmed. You can’t make out his/her expression- passively neutral- and you’re not sure whether to sit next to him/her or not.

Ah, the dilemma…

I know don’t about you all, but I have had this happen to me. Maybe it’s because I’m still shy, but all of these awkward exchanges at school with people who I *sort of* know from classes and clubs are just so…cringe-y. Or maybe it’s not just me, but rather the entire college student body: perhaps we’re just a bunch of awkward people. 😛

But really, it’s not that bad. It is just an observation that I’ve noticed throughout my four years in college. How people would meet and greet each other, especially after months and terms of not seeing each other. You always wonder where they disappeared off to, since the campus is so vast and really, what are the chances that you will run into them again?

True story: Just the other day, I was in the library reading when I looked up and saw my former TA from my second year walk in. She saw me, surprised, and walked over to greet me. We caught up for a few minutes before she went off, and afterwards, I thought it was a strange (but lovely) coincidence to have run into her, in the quiet confines of the library, after a year or two of not seeing each other. For some reason, I had thought that she was already done with her graduate schooling; guess not! We talked as if time hadn’t passed much between us, and I admit, I was pretty comfortable with it. She as well. 🙂

Anyway, the point is that meeting people and forming connections with them through college life can be at once a wonderful experience: making friends, forming alliances, expanding your circle for future opportunities, and so forth. It’s great. On the other hand, it can be a bit…weird. And I have learned that when that awkward situation happens, don’t stress it. No matter how much you want it, some connections were just not meant to be. That’s life. 😛

Have you had an awkward/wonderful experience of meeting people you know? Let me know! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

5 thoughts on “Things I Learned in College: Meeting People…

  1. I’ve had all sorts of awkward meet ups after it’s been a while. Especially at the bar or club in the bathroom! haha 😀 But I do think college/university has its advantage of meeting new people! It’s quite fun and I miss it lol

Leave a Reply

