There’s Something I Need to Tell You…

Hello, everyone.

So…there’s something I need to tell you all. Something that I have been keeping from you for over a month, almost two, actually. It’s personal, and now…I think I am ready to let you know.

*deep breath*

Here goes…

I have been accepted into the French teaching program for next academic year! 😀

What does this mean? It means that I, after graduation, will be moving to France to live there for the next seven to eight months, teaching students at one of the the region’s high schools. I will be teaching English, or rather, the American culture (of which I come from) in English.

You might be asking: how did I found out about this program? How was the application process?

Rewind to October: it was the beginning of my final year in college and, having returned from a memorable experience studying abroad in France, I was delighted to discover a program that would allow me to go back to the country for a longer amount of time. Called TAPIF, this program is geared towards recent college graduates who have a French background and a desire to pursue teaching opportunities. The application process didn’t look too bad (in fact, not bad at all), and the acceptance rate was pretty good.

So I went for it. From October to December, I filled out the application, asked my French professors for letters of recommendation, wrote my personal statement, and had it all sent before the January deadline.

Then…I waited.

Around the second week of April, the notification came. I remember that day was super busy for me at school, running around campus for classes and club commitments. I had just gotten back to my apartment around 7:30 at night, logging into my computer and checking my email. I was surprised to see the subject line “TAPIF” in my Inbox, and I knew then that…it was time. To see my future (or not). It was now or never.

My reaction when I received the good news was confirmed through the sweeping, immense sense of pure, ecstatic joy. Seriously, I was giddily smiling the entire night, instantly messaging my family and friends the amazing news. My status on Facebook blew up, with an overwhelming number of “Friends” congratulating me on my program acceptance. In all honesty, that was one of the best nights that I had experienced so far in this school term.

You might also be asking: so what’s the next step? 

Good question. Currently, the TAPIF program coordinator hasn’t sent out much information yet, about the logistics behind travel Visas, lodging, school assignment, and whatnot. All of that stuff will be coming out over the summer, and so for right now, I will continue to bask in the glory of being admitted into the French teaching program.

Not only am I glad that I have something to do after graduation, but also I am super happy that I have something to do which I love after graduation, at least, for the short-term. Although I don’t leave until after summer, I can’t wait to share with you my adventures while abroad (again), and this time for a longer period of time.

With that being said, I hope you are having a good day. Take care! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

25 thoughts on “There’s Something I Need to Tell You…

  1. That’s great news! What an adventure you’re about to have – I do hope you enjoy my beautiful home country, I miss France on a daily basis (I live in England now). You’re going to have a blast 🙂

  2. That’s awesome news! I bet you’re so excited (heck, I’m excited for you). Congratulations, good luck, and may it be a safe and worthwhile experience. Or, to be more appropriate (and with the help of Google Translate), félicitations, bonne chance, et peut-il être une expérience sécuritaire et utile. 🙂

  3. Pingback: I’ve Graduated…Now What?? – The Finicky Cynic

  4. Pingback: Off to France!!! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

