Weird Questions!

Hi, all!

Not too long ago, I came across a wonderful post from one of my favorite bloggers, Honestly, Libby, in which she answered a few “weird” questions about herself. She has encouraged me to take part in these questions, and so I will! This is for you, love. 😉

1. Do you have a nickname that only your family use?

Not really. My parents call me by my Chinese “first name,” but I guess with me and my sister, we’ve given each other shorten versions of our Chinese titles (of being “Big Sister” and “Little Sister.” She’s younger than me, by the way). At first, it started off as a joke when we were younger, but ever since then, they have stuck.

2. What’s a weird habit of yours?

I fiddle with my thumb a lot. I was born with a slight bump on my left thumb, and so I have the habit of toying with it when I’m bored, sometimes even unconsciously. Very strange, I know.

3. Do you have any weird phobias?

Globophobia– fear of balloons/balloons popping in front of me. I can never trust people when it comes to blowing up balloons at a party, or seeing a kid on the street holding a balloon. It’s crazy, but the fear is real. It’s real.

Sciurophobia– fear of squirrels. I don’t have this fear as much as I used to, say, about two or three years ago, but I’m always afraid that they might carry diseases like rabies or something (another huge fear of mine). Plus, they never seem to get scared of humans approaching them; they just stare at you with their dark, beady eyes. It’s quite unsettling, actually.

4. What song do you secretly love to blast out when you’re alone?

Hm…perhaps JR Aquino’s acoustic cover of Justin Timberlake’s “Not A Bad Thing.” Never ceases to make me happy and mushy inside. ❤

5. What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?

People who are late, as well as never starting on time (for meetings, events). I don’t like wasting time, and so it always irks me that others don’t seem to share the same feeling. I understand if one is rushing from somewhere else and need to be late; contacting in advance is the way to go. But if one really doesn’t seem to care about showing up on time, then I have no words for you. Just massive irritation. 😦

6. What’s one of your nervous habits?

When I get nervous/stressed out, one of the things I do is play with my hair. I twirl it between my fingers, roll it into a bun and then unravel it, stroke it, etc. It’s very distracting, but I’ve found that tying it back helps me to stop doing it. That, and getting me back on track.

7. What side of the bed do you sleep on?

Tends to be the right side. Near my alarm/phone, actually.

8. What was your first stuffed animal and it’s name?

My first stuffed animal was this snowy-white bear in a red-and-white polka dot dress. Her name was in Chinese, but it translated to something like “Bear Sister.” I loved it to pieces, but unfortunately, I left her behind in a hotel during a trip to Las Vegas when I was three. Super heart-broken, but I’m sure that she’s fine, wherever she is right now. 😛

9. What’s the drink you always order at Starbucks?

I don’t go to Starbucks. If I were to, I would do so around the fall/holiday season, when the store has its “special” drinks. I’ve been meaning to try them for a while, anyway.

10. What’s a beauty rule you preach but never actually practice?

“Don’t wrinkle/frown too much, or else you’ll have crease marks all over your face.”

…Yup. I frown like a clown. 😛

11. Which way do you face in the shower?

Towards the shower head and away from it.

12. Do you have any ‘weird’ body skills?

Nothing really that exciting: I can contract my nostrils, and raise one eyebrow (only my right one, too). Can be double-jointed on a few of my fingers. That’s about it.

13. What’s your favorite ‘bad’ comfort food that you eat anyway?

I definitely agree with Libby’s love for cookie dough- it’s AMAZING. But to go the savory route, another favorite “bad” comfort food is pasta. Layer on the carbs, the cream/pesto sauce, and shredded cheese, and I’m good to go! It’s naughty, but I love it! 😛

14. What’s a phrase or exclamation that you always say?

While not actually a phrase, I notice that I tend to end my sentences with “so…” or “so…yeah.” For example: “I was out walking the dog yesterday, and ran into a friend who I hadn’t seen in a long time. It was great, since I’d missed her a lot, so…(yeah).” Not quite sure why I do this- perhaps it’s because I don’t know when to stop talking, so I just let the idea trail off, as if in mid-sentence. It confuses some people, but I really don’t know how to end my speeches!

15. It’s time to sleep – what are you ACTUALLY wearing?

Nothing bang-worthy. Just a T-shirt and my baby-blue shorts. Especially my baby-blue shorts. So definitely not bang-worthy… 😉 HAHA, I kid!

Feel free to give these questions a try! I would be happy to see what you have to share. 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

 

2 thoughts on “Weird Questions!

  1. YES! I was so happy to see this.
    I love your answers. Especially the one about people being late! I must admit I laughed out loud at “bang-worthy” I’ve never heard that phrase before. Now I must use!

Leave a Reply

