Things I Want To Do This Summer!

Hello!

It’s been a week since I’ve graduated and already, I am bored. Although I *sort of* have a job right now, as well as getting passport/VISA issues sorted out for France, I have virtually nothing to do this summer. ๐Ÿ˜›

With all of this free time, then, I have taken it upon myself to get back into doing the things I enjoy doing that I couldn’t do during the school year, due to being busy and everything. Here is a bucket-list of things I want to accomplish this summer. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Reading for pleasure. I’ve always been a bookworm, but I haven’t had much time to read for fun while in college. Even as an English major, I still read a lot, but for classes. And while some novels/poems were interesting and worth reading over again, others were not as much. This summer, though, I plan to read a few books just to get back into my love for reading.ย โค

Here’s a brief list of the top novels that I want to tackle this summer:

Fifty Shades of Greyย ๐Ÿ˜› – E.L. Jamesย (and possibly the entire trilogy)

My Antonia Willa Cather

Fresh Off the Boat- Eddie Huang

2. Watching films. Besides the huge summer blockbusters coming up, there are others that I would like to watch just at home, on TV or my computer. Seriously, I rarely watch films when they first hit theaters- sometimes, I don’t get to them until years later! Regardless, I eventually get around to them, and the experience is just as rewarding. ๐Ÿ™‚

A list of films that I want to view this summer:

In theaters:

Pitch Perfect 2

Minions

At home:

Kiss Me (2011)

Gravity (2013)

Cleo de 5 ร  7 (1962)

Ginger and Rosa (2012)

3. Hanging out with friends. Of course, this is an obvious go-to plan for the summer. But considering that I haven’t seen my old friends in months, let alone over a year, I miss them. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thankfully, though, we plan on seeing each other really soon, since one of my friends invited us to a party sometime next week. I also have ambitions for meeting up with my friends from college, who I have gotten to know and grow close with over the four years. It will be difficult to coordinate events, since everyone’s schedules are all over the place, but we’ll manage! ๐Ÿ™‚

4. Getting back into the piano and violin. I don’t not if I’ve told you all, but I used to take lessons for the piano and violin as a child, as well as used to play extensively throughout my childhood. However, it sort of became less frequent for me as I got older, and moved out to college. I would still occasionally play during the holiday breaks, but otherwise, I rarely did. This summer, then, is my last opportunity to get back into it, and hopefully find my love for playing the musical instruments again. โค

5. Practicing French. Considering that I will be moving to France in a couple of months, I really need to brush up on my speaking and listening skills. Unfortunately, I don’t have many French friends around to practice with me, and so I will just have to make do with Internet videos and reading. Let’s hope that my French will be up-to-par when I land in France this fall!

6. Continue writing poetry.ย After being inspired from the poetry workshops that I took this year,ย I want to continue writing. Granted, it might be difficult to do so, especially with life getting in the way and all of that. But I would like to devote myself to writing at least one poem a month, as well as submittingย to literary publicationsย in hopes of getting a poem, even a chapbook, published. It’s a stretch, but it can’t hurt to give it a shot! *fingers crossed

What are your plans for this summer? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

– The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

16 thoughts on “Things I Want To Do This Summer!

  1. whoa whoa whoa whoa. I missed the life update on moving to France! that’s so exciting! when do you leave? Please blog…in English ( s’il vous plait)
    reading for pleasure is the greatest luxury of summer/post college life. this is a great list!

  2. Sure sounds like you want to say busy this summer. ๐Ÿ˜› I gotta look up those old movies you listed; the titles alone make them sound so cool (though I know all about “Gravity” already).

    1. Indeed! Since I have about two and a half months, I ought to do something productive. ๐Ÿ™‚

      …and yes! Let me know if you get around to watching those films.

  3. I’ve seen Pitch Perfect 2 and Ginger and Rosa. I had mixed emotions for the former and I got lots of insights from the latter. Good choices!! I hope you’ll have a great time carrying out your plans this Summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sounds like a good summer! Read the 50 shades trilogy it’s awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€ Great post ๐Ÿ™‚ . Always good to catch up with those you haven’t had time for.

    As for my summer, I will be working, looking for a second job as well as trying to get promoted at this one…writing one of my novels and blogging. I also plan to go places I haven’t been in my own city! So much to see and I can’t believe I haven’t explored but that is why it’s the city that never sleeps. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Awesome! I’m currently reading “Fifty Shades of Grey,” almost done with it actually. ๐Ÿ˜›

      I wish you well finding a second job and getting promoted with your other one. But do take the opportunity to go out and explore; you might be surprise that there’s a lot going on in your town than you actually think. I take it that you’re from New York?

      1. Yay! What do you think of it? ๐Ÿ˜› Thank youuu it is so rough out here. The promotion was offered but it’s not glorified it’s only to be a cafe lead lol. But Thank u. Oh of course ๐Ÿ™‚ I am 25 and still figuring life out so I may as well have fun too right? ๐Ÿ˜€ Yupp that’s where I am from…Brooklyn NYC

      2. Haha, I’m currently finishing it up. So far, “Fifty Shades” is an interesting read…

        Nice that you’re from New York! I’ve visited there, and it was a great place. ๐Ÿ™‚

      3. Well at least it’s interesting. ๐Ÿ˜€ Let me know when you get to 50 shades Freed hehe.
        Thank you! It is exciting. Did you like your visit? I hope u were treated well. It is a great place with too many options ;D ๐Ÿ™‚

      4. Yeah! I went to New York when I was thirteen, but mainly saw the big attractions (e.g. Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty, UN Headquarters). I remember it snowing a bit, but strangely getting hot- all in the month of February!

      5. Aww 13, so innocent! Yeah those attractions are great. Ohh yeah I’ve lived through that. It was pretty weird. You have a great memory I can imagine!

  5. Pingback: Things I Wanted To Do This Summer (Recap!) – The Finicky Cynic

  6. Pingback: Things To Do This Summer! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

