So Last Night’s Party…

…was a good time. 🙂

I was back in town for the summer, and went to a friend’s party to get together and celebrate her birthday (although it was one month belated, considering that we were busy and all during the academic term. But that didn’t matter). Around six or seven of my other friends from back home also came as well; some of us hadn’t seen each other in a year, so it was definitely great to re-unite and have a good time for the day.

We started at around 2 in the afternoon, and went until past 9 at night. Quite a bit of time spent together, but those seven hours flew by super quickly. Again, it had been a year of not seeing or really contacting each other through the Internet, so the party was very much needed for us to see each other again. For the first two or so hours, we participated in a “Murder Mystery” game in which we dressed up as characters from a certain theme (this year’s was Alice in Wonderland), interacted with each other via a pre-made script, and ultimately decided which character-person is the murderer at the end. We’ve been doing this “Murder Mystery” get-up for the past three or four years, I believe, and each time it’s always a blast. Doesn’t help that we’re all super loud and ridiculous with each other, ripping one another apart with horrible jokes and laughing hysterically at them.

Like, we had this running gag throughout most of the party, inspired by the Tweedledee and Tweedledum wordplay that was going on then. (For those of you who don’t know who or what they are, Tweedledee and Tweedledum are twin characters in Alice in Wonderland who look and act alike in respect to each other). Long story short, we kept making up puns in almost every sentence of our conversation, saying things like, “you are a Tweedle-dum dum!” or “I am so Tweedle-done with this!” I know it’s super juvenile, but we were just crazy like that. Really, we were laughing so damn hard at every phrase; I could barely breathe from all of the laughing that I was doing, and tears were running down my cheeks (yes, they did!). It was all just as absurd as the story of Alice in Wonderland, really, not to forget all good in fun and games.

P.S.: The murderer ended up being the White Rabbit. 😛

After the game ended, we hung out for the next few hours, eating cheap Chinese take-out and desserts. Lots and lots of desserts. From the millionaire shortbread that I had baked to the red velvet birthday cake to my host friend’s bread pudding, it was a glory fest of sweetness. Now, I love all things sweet and delicious, but man, after a while one can only handle enough sugar, cream, butter, and chocolate in one’s stomach before feeling the pre-diabetes kick in. The sparkling cider didn’t help, either. Don’t get me wrong, though: they were super tasty, but I was super stuffed afterwards. I know that I will definitely be laying off the sweets for this upcoming week. 😛

Other activities that we did included a cross-game of Pictionary and “Telephone.” The purpose of the game was to come up with a sentence, write it down on a piece of paper or some other writing medium, then pass it along to the person next to you in a circle to interpret via drawing. Each pass alternates between interpreting the original sentence between writing and drawing, until at the very end, the drawing that was supposed to match up with the original text are compared, and we all get a good laugh at them, since they’re usually never guessed completely accurate. It got pretty inappropriate in the second round, as we all are still somewhat immature (for twenty-something-year-olds, even), and started the game on the topic of women’s butts and breasts. Sounds objectifying, but then again we’re all women and we were fully aware of the issues surrounding the concept. And really, it was just a light-hearted way of dealing with it, making it fun, but also socially-conscious of our position, as women, in a male-gazed dominant society. But I digress. 😛

All in all, I had a good time. Especially with close friends from back in town. Seriously, we’ve all known each other for years. Years, I tell you: my oldest friend has been with me since preschool, while some of the others who I would consider as acquaintances since at least high school. Basically, we all grew up together in the same city, went through the same school system, and hung out a lot during our childhood. Throughout the years, we had come to know each other very well, in terms of personality, habits, hobbies, interests, etc. Although we all came from different backgrounds and had almost virtually nothing in common with one another, we all have continued to remain friends and still entertain ourselves whenever we do meet up during holiday breaks.

I suppose that I ought to end this post with some deep and meaningful take-away message about maintaining old friendships throughout college and beyond. Yes, that is one part concerning this post, but the other is to be able to have that same friendship change, develop, and ultimately flourish over time. Good, long friendships aren’t about complacency, or letting a relationship grow stagnate, but rather about shifting and adapting to any new circumstances thrown in the way of spending time together. At least, those were what I had learned throughout my undergraduate career; perhaps you will find merit in them.

I know that this post was a rambling one, but I was just so glad that I was able to get a lot of pleasure out of yesterday’s party with old friends. From sun-up to sun-down, we had an amazingly crazy (one might say “juvenile”)  time. It didn’t matter that we had acted childish and ridiculous- after all, we’re in our twenties, and we were inside the household so as not to disturb others in the neighborhood. Although I am quite reserved and cautious in real life, I found myself more loose and at ease with company, since I had known my friends for many, many years. It was definitely a good day in the late June weather, and we even made plans to *possibly* meet up later in the summer, around July or August. We shall see, and until then, stay Tweedle-dynamic! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

3 thoughts on “So Last Night’s Party…

  1. Friendship in these days is fluid, it changes as time goes on. I have been around for 45 years and I have had friends come and go. Sometimes you have life-long friend then you have a friend for a season in life. You will find life is going to cause you to change the way you relate to people and friends in general.

    1. I definitely agree. My friendships have fluctuated over the years, but over time, I have still kept in touch with them. It’s tricky to do so over time, especially when our lives are so busy, but when we do meet up, it’s as if we’d never lost touch!

Leave a Reply

