Inspirational Quote #3 (3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge)

Hello, there!

A while ago, I was nominated by My Overflowing Thoughts to partake in this “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge.” I have already shared with you two of my favorite quotes, which you can find here and here.

Today, I bring you the final quote for Day Three. This quote has a particular meaning for me as a poet; I am a firm believer in recognizing “powerful feelings” in writing, for much of poetry is subjective, anyway. Having that emotion within the words, lines, and stanzas makes the entire poem itself accessible, and that’s what you want to feel after reading it. If the poem’s too distant, devoid of emotion and impersonal, then not everyone can understand it, let alone enjoy it.

However, there also needs to be a balance between being emotional and being over-emotional. In other words, sentimentality is too much, and so it is good to reign in the passion when it starts to get out of hand. But any case, it is better to have even a hint of pathos than to have a sterile, uninteresting poem. Unless it adds something new to the literary genre, but I highly doubt that. 😛

Anyway, enough of my philosophical ramblings. Enjoy the quote, and have a good day! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

– The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

2 thoughts on “Inspirational Quote #3 (3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge)

Leave a Reply

