A Night at the Museum!

…and no, I’m not talking about that film with Ben Stiller in it. 😛

Last Friday, I was glad to have hit up the city night-life with some of my hometown friends. We had been planning to go to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA for short) to check out the place, which is most notable for its Urban Light exhibition. In case you don’t know what it is, Urban Light is pretty much a display of many street lamps, all clustered together in many different shapes and sizes, and has been considered a Los Angeles icon for the city.

Really, it is a spectacle to admire. Here’s a sample (of a photo that I had taken that night):

See? What did I tell you? Beautiful, no? 🙂

Any case, my friends and I went out in the late afternoon, taking local into the heart of West L.A. We had stopped by for some dinner and dessert in the city before heading to LACMA, about six miles away. By the time we finished eating, it was approaching eight p.m.; it was getting dark. So we took the stretch all the way down Wilshire Boulevard (one of the longest and most traffic-jammed areas in Los Angeles), passing by famous places like La Cienega Boulevard, Beverly Hill’s Rodeo Drive, and Santa Monica Boulevard. You know, the upscale rich neighborhoods that we can’t ever afford (but can dream about!). 😛

We arrived at the museum, parked underground, and took the lovely glass, red elevator to ground level, where we instantly saw the Urban Light display. The place was crowded, especially since it was a Friday night; locals and tourists alike were everywhere, hanging out and taking photos among the luminescent pillars. It was certainly a sight to see, as it felt like I was being transported into an alternative point in Los Angeles city life- something that I wasn’t used to, but nevertheless embraced.

Took plenty of photos outside and within the Urban Light structure, even standing on and hugging the pillars in funny/weird poses, having fun in the meantime. We also got a group photo in, as means of remembering our last night together, before we headed off our separate ways (my friends back to college, myself to France). Spent no more than thirty minutes at LACMA before taking the dark, long drive home.

Overall, it was a wonderful night. I was able to fulfill my desire of visiting LACMA, as well as reuniting with my old friends from high school. It amazes me that, while I was born and raised in Los Angeles, I had never been to LACMA until that night. Even then when I was at the university, it was only a short drive away- and still, I didn’t even go. It wasn’t until this summer, after having graduated from school, that I was able to make my dreams happen. Especially with some of my close friends. And I’m glad that I did. 🙂

Here are some more photos from that night. Enjoy!

♪ "All of the lights..." ♪
♪ “All of the lights…” ♪
Inside the pillars.

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

6 thoughts on “A Night at the Museum!

  1. Pingback: Restaurants I Want to Try! – The Finicky Cynic

  2. Pingback: A Day at the Museum! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

