Things I Wanted To Do This Summer (Recap!)

Hi, there!

At the beginning of this summer, I wrote a post on the list of things that I wanted to do in the summer, especially this being post-grad life (after college, that is). Now that my time is coming to an end, I would like to revisit my list and see what I have accomplished in my two-plus months of vacation.

Below you will find my recap(s) of what I did (or didn’t) do this summer, as well as reflections on them. For the post that I wrote earlier this summer, you can find it here. In any case, enjoy! 🙂

1. Reading for pleasure. Now, I’m pretty proud of myself for actually reading this summer. While Internet still continues to eclipse my attention over book reading, I have taken it upon myself to read at least the books that I had listed earlier this summer, and then some. Reading novels like The Awakening (Chopin), The Overcoat (Gogol), Interpreter of Maladies (Lahiri) and The Martian (Weir) offered new literary perspectives for me, and for those moments, I was able to appreciate literature again.

My (core) list of books that I wanted to tackle this summer:

Fifty Shades of Grey (as of 6/22/15), Fifty Shades Darker (as of 8/27/15), Fifty Shades Freed (as of 9/2/15)– E.L. James

My Antonia (as of 7/3/15) Willa Cather

Fresh Off the Boat- Eddie Huang (sadly didn’t get around to it. Some other time!)

2. Watching films. I surprised myself this summer by, well, pretty much watching a film at least once a day. Whether I had checked them out at the library or saw them in theaters, I viewed more films that I ever did in a given year! I was also able to satisfy many from my film bucket-list, which you can check out in this post.

A list of films that I watched this summer:

In theaters:

Pitch Perfect 2 (unfortunately out of theaters by the time that I finished school!)

Minions (as of 8/13/15)

At home:

Kiss Me (2011) (as of 6/19/15)

Gravity (2013) (as of 7/10/15)

Cleo de 5 à 7 (1962) (as of 8/27/15)

Ginger and Rosa (2012) (as of 7/14/15)

3. Hanging out with friends. Another surprise: I can’t really recall a week that hasn’t gone by without me catching up with a friend or group of friends. I realized that, with the exception of one or two weeks in the summer, I had something going on with friends, both from school and from my hometown. I have attended birthday celebrations, planned trips to museums, visited the beach, and checked out restaurants in the Los Angeles area. Trust me, there was a lot of eating- a lot. Not good for my wallet, but nevertheless I was happy to have met up with my friends, and ended up establishing stronger bonds with mutual ones. I still have plans to get together one more time this coming week, but until then, I have plenty of good memories to reflect on. 🙂

4. Getting back into the piano and violin. I was only able to get back into piano; I didn’t dare return to violin, just because the noise would disrupt the neighbors- more so than the piano. I feel bad for not getting back into the violin, but at least I was able to do so for the piano. Just got back into the swing of classical and contemporary music, considering that I hadn’t played in over a year. Not sure if I will get the opportunity to play while abroad, but it’s been nice while I still have it.

5. Practicing French. This has actually been quite interesting: I was able to practice and improve my French (a bit) this summer, not only tuning into numerous Youtube and TV5Monde videos, but also establishing French pen pals! I found a website to get in contact with people trying to improve their targeted languages (e.g. French, English) and from there I have consistently kept in contact with two French people. Through texting, Facebook, and several Skype chats, I am feeling more comfortable speaking French, and feel an improvement in my speaking abilities, if only slightly. This will definitely help me out when I move into France- very soon! 😀

6. Continue writing poetry. During the month of July, I was able to write at least a new poem each week. I have to thank my poet friend from college for inspiring me to keep at it- and I think along the way I had inspired her myself. We actually lived around the area, and so during June and July, we met up almost every week to hang out, share poetry, and help each other improve at our writing. Our friendship also got closer, and I really enjoyed those times. Although I began writing less after she had left for school in August, I still did write a bit then. Just last week, I took it upon myself to self-publish my first book of poems! Once it gets finalized, perhaps I will share it with you! This is definitely a big step up in my poetry career! ❤

Overall, I am glad to say that this summer, being post-grad and all, has been quite productive. Even though I basically stayed at home, I tried to keep myself busy with all of these activities while still connecting with you, my fellow bloggers. I enjoyed meeting new bloggers, staying in touch with old ones, and overall continuing to grow on this wonderful platform of creative minds and voices. I owe my experiences all to you, and I cannot wait for what the next step in my post-grad life has to offer. Until then! 🙂

– The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

12 thoughts on “Things I Wanted To Do This Summer (Recap!)

  1. I did not know you had an interest for piano and violin. Honestly, I personally love the piano. It’s such a beautiful instrument. It would be so awesome if you could somehow share your progress with that with us!

    It’s just a thought haha. You don’t have to of course 🙂

    1. Yes, I enjoy playing both instruments. I’ve been playing the piano for 16 years and the violin for 12 years. Although I don’t play as much as I used to, I still find pleasure in doing so when I have the time. 🙂

      I’ve actually posted myself playing the piano a while ago on this blog, so if you’re interested in hearing how I play, you can find it here: https://thefinickycynicat.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/piano-cover-junejour-challenge-day-2/

      Thanks for your comment!

      1. Wow you’re amazing. I’m seriously impressed. You read sheet music like if it’s a regular book haha. Please continue playing I think you have real talent.

      2. Thank you for your compliment! Yes, I consider myself pretty adept at reading sheet music, but I have always wanted to learn how to play by ear. Perhaps someday!

        Do you play an instrument? If so, which one (or which instrument would you like to learn)?

      3. You’re welcome! And that’s great. Playing by ear would truly be a talent. Something I’d love to acquire as well.

        Yes I do haha. I actually play multiple instruments but the two I’m most fond of and enjoy most is piano and guitar. Which is why I took such an interest that you played piano haha. Thanks for asking!

      4. How nice! I’ve always wanted to learn the guitar. Like what you said about the piano, I find the guitar a lovely instrument. It’s great that we both love playing music!

      1. Well, the winter vacation has 10 days as holidays, so don’t know if I can do much with that. But nevertheless, I am looking forward to achieving them.
        You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

