Off to France!!!

Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh.

Today’s the day! 😀

Finally, I am leaving for France! I can’t believe it. It is almost surreal to believe that, after months of anticipation, the time has come for me to move and start my post-grad life overseas!

If you have been out of the loop of my plans to go abroad, you can refer to my post here. Long story short, I will be living in France for the next eight months for my new job. Although it’s only a temporary position, the job nevertheless will give me the opportunity to stay in Europe for a longer period of time, rather than merely a brief stay as I have done in the past.

Better yet, I won’t have to work a lot of hours with this job of mine. Even better than that, I will also have several weeks of paid vacation, and I intend to fully use them to travel not only around France, but also throughout the rest of Europe. For my list of places that I want to visit while abroad, check out my previous post here.

Pretty much have everything packed, and trust me, it’s a lot. I’m sure that I will end up spending money on other necessary items when I settle in to my place in France, but again, it’s going to be eight months of living there. That’s a long time. Again, it’s the longest that I have ever been away from home, and so the more prepared I am, the smoother everything will be.

Flight’s due soon. I am traveling with my family, first going to Paris for some sightseeing. Since I had studied abroad there last summer, I *sort of* know the city (i.e. location of places, good restaurants, etc.), and so I have planned an itinerary of activities that we can do during the week that we’re there. So far, it looks like we’ll be busy every day, but hopefully it’ll all be in good fun. 🙂

That being said, since I will be occupied with activities for the upcoming week, I will not be posting anything until *hopefully* the following week, once I move into my housing place and get settled in. I will try my best to post again during that time, but in case you don’t hear from me, don’t fret! To pass the time while I am away, you can check out my posts of my travel abroad experience in Paris from the previous year:

(You can also check out my French blog, in which I’ve also posted some stuff on my travels. Need to warn you that the site’s in French, but you can always use Google Translate to help you out). 😛

Another thing: even though I will be away from home for eight months, that doesn’t mean that I will stop posting on WordPress. Not at all. However, I cannot guarantee that I will be posting daily, as I have done throughout this year. Especially since I will be working and traveling, it might be hard for me to find time to write, schedule, and post new blog content every day. I will make the effort to blog regularly, but just wanted to give you the heads up if it doesn’t turn out that way.

Also: due to the nine-hour difference between France and Los Angeles (where I’m from), my posts will most likely be scheduled at different times to which you are originally accustomed. There also might be times when I won’t be able to go into WordPress and re-post stuff to make them more visible to a larger audience. That means, then, you will need to keep your eyes focused on when the posts come or not! And that’s my challenge to you! 😀

With all that being said, I am ready to go. Thank you all for your continued support on my WordPress blog, and I will get back to you soon. Until then, bon voyage! ❤

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

18 thoughts on “Off to France!!!

  1. Gosh you do sound like someone with nervous anticipation and excitement. So good of your folks to travel with you to Paris; I imagine that’ll help ease any long-distance longing you’ll have for each other over the coming months. Hope you all have an enjoyable time, and a safe one at that. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Allison’s random stuff (9/5/2015 edition) | Allison M.

  3. CYNIC, that is so FREAKIINGG amazing! It is just here now, and seemed so far away! I wish I could come and join you, it’s such a greatt opportunity! Come take me too ❤
    All the bestt! And post a lott a pictures 😀

Leave a Reply

