On Vacation!

Hello, folks! 🙂

As you probably know, I am currently teaching abroad in France for a year, after having finished my university studies back in June. And although I have only been teaching for two weeks so far, it comes time now for my first vacation break!

Yes, crazy, isn’t it? I had just started teaching, and now I am on break for the next week and a half! Vacation starts tomorrow, then goes until the beginning of November. Known as “les vacances de la Toussaint,” this school holiday is one that many people– students and teachers alike– really look forward to.

Not to say that I don’t enjoy teaching, but any opportunities for vacation is always appreciated! I have already booked my travel expenses and lodgings for most of the places that I am planning to hit. I won’t reveal just yet where I am going, but I will once I return from my travels!

Truthfully, it was super stressful for me to put everything together, especially with one of the itineraries that I was going back-and-forth on throughout the week; it wasn’t until this Tuesday that I finally decided to go for it, because really, when would I have this opportunity in the future? Yes, I worry about the money, but my mindset is just to make it through this first trip, then save like hell until the holiday season in December. Never did the expression “Time is money” became so apropos. 😛

Although I’m not religious, I do pray that I will stay safe while traveling; even though I have arranged plans with other assistants throughout France to travel together, there will be moments where I will have to get to places on my own. Fingers *tightly* crossed that things will go well, and that I remain calm under the circumstances in which they don’t.

That being said, I will be out of town starting tomorrow, and won’t return until close to the end of October. Considering that I will probably be super preoccupied with traveling and whatnot, I will not be posting content on my WordPress blog. You might see me pop in from time to time on your blogs, but you will have to wait for me to return in order to receive new posts from me.

God, this is at once exciting and nerve-wracking for me! Please do wish me luck as I set out for my first real backpacking trip around Europe, and I will *hopefully* see you later. Bon voyage! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

23 thoughts on “On Vacation!

  1. Best best of luck, have all the fun you can and cannot muster, and be safe!!!! how amazing that you’re seizing what’s in front of you, and then what’s ahead of you!! awesome! i’m ever inspired.

  2. Have so much fun! I spent Touissant in Madrid. I know you’ve already chosen your destination, but if for some reason you need a reco, I highly suggest warmer climates–it gets cold in Normandy real fast once November hits! Though they do start putting up all the lovely Christmas decorations around then … and now I’m getting nostalgic. Profites bien !

  3. I hope you will have a great time traveling. France is an amazing country and unfortunately I have not seen half of what I would have loved to see while still living in Switzerland. I came over to visit your from OM’s Blog review post. Glad I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

