Daddy’s Eyes- Jake Coco (SSJ #10)

Happy Sunday, folks! šŸ™‚

Today, I bring you Jake Coco’s “Daddy’s Eyes (Original).” Although it came out back in 2011, the song continues to touch me four years later. ā¤

I think that this song, while sad and all, can be applied to any dad or father figure out there in the world. I am aware that there are some people out there who are not blessed with the most ideal fathers or, sadly, with none at all. I have heard of people whose fathers have suffered from sickness, cancer, died in wars and accidents, and other tragedies that still haunts them to this day.

Therefore, hearing these stories in relation to Jake Coco’s song makes me reflect on my own relationship to my dad. Growing up, I had always considered him a loving, but rather annoying figure: stubborn, hot-tempered, impatient, a bit childish, and whatnot. I was not very forgiving with his nature and we would have many instances of disagreement, even over the most trivial things. Perhaps I take after him in terms of his hot-temperness, and we still have issues today, but otherwise I would say that I am lucky to even have him, considering that there are those who don’t.

…and although I find him irritating at times, I do appreciate what he has done for me over the years. He raised me, and I believe that he, along with my mom, have done well for me and my sister. “Daddy’s Eyes” continues to remind me of how grateful I am (and should be) for having someone who cares for me, even when I am reluctant to reciprocate.

Best to play this song on Father’s Day, or even better, every day of the year! Enjoy. šŸ™‚

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

2 thoughts on “Daddy’s Eyes- Jake Coco (SSJ #10)

  1. Some of those descriptions you apply to your dad can also apply to my stepfather: Stubborn (definitely), petulant (most definitely), impatient (occasionally), hot-tempered (sometimes). But just like you with your father, I have to acknowledge and be grateful for all my stepdad did to support our family when my siblings and I were younger. Thanks for sharing this song, F.C.

Leave a Reply

