My Bucket List for Europe! (Part 2)

Hey, there!

Back in the summer, I had written a post titled “My Bucket List for Europe,” in which I listed cities and places that I wanted to visit while abroad in France.

Now, two-and-a-half months later, I can say that I have satisfied two out of the ten places on my bucket list! Whoohoo…yeah… 😛

Yes, yes, I know. I haven’t been to many of the places that I wanted to yet. But I still have another six months in Europe to go out and check the rest of the places out! And as you already know, I have already traveled a lot throughout the Upper-Normandy region, visiting both the big cities of Rouen and Le Havre, as well as smaller ones like Étretat and Fécamp. And my grand adventure throughout Belgium and in Prague during les vacances de la Toussaint was a blast! 🙂

However, despite it all, I have taken it upon myself to come up with another bucket list of places to go– on top of the ones that I haven’t even been to yet! These past two months living in France has helped me discover new potential places to visit, both domestically and abroad, as well as made me more, well, ambitious.

Seriously, the wanderlust is real.

In any case, here is my (updated!) list of places that I want to visit in Europe. I’m starting with those that I want to see while in France, then expand it to those throughout the rest of Europe. Brace yourself! 😉

Taken from Locaboat.

1. Strasbourg, France. I have heard nothing but amazing things about this city: from the travel videos that I have seen on Youtube to people’s personal opinions of being there, Strasbourg sounds like a fantastic place to visit. Situated near the border of France and Germany, this quaint city has a blend of French and German influences, from the food to the architecture to even the dialect (which I heard is called “Alsatian”). I am pushing to visit there during le marché de Noël in a couple of weeks, so I really hope that I can go! *fingers crossed

Taken from Tumblr.

2. Caen, France. I mean, seriously: look at that photo. Isn’t it absolutely majestic? 😛 In any case, I would like to visit Caen, especially since it is so close to where I am! While I am in the Haute-Normandie region of France (Caen is in Basse-Normandie), it is not as far of a way to get there compared to, say, the Provence region in the south. If I were to go, I would choose to couple my visit to Caen with other cities or places in the region, including Honfleur, the landing beaches of Normandy, and Le Mont Saint-Michel. Should be fun! 😀

Taken from Fac-Paris.

3. Toulouse, France. While I don’t know much of what this city has, I have heard that it is pleasant, both the atmosphere and the people. Also heard that the locals have a distinctive “Toulousian” accent, which I have also heard is quite charming!

If any of you have ever been to Toulouse, please offer me some suggestions on what to do there! 🙂

Taken from The Good Life France.

4. Provence region in France. About five to six hours north of Toulouse, the Provence region is famous for its countryside, filled with fields and fields of bright lavenders. Not only that, but it contains a host of charming towns like Avignon (with the well-known, unfinished half-bridge), Montpellier, Arles, Aix-en-Provence, and Marseille itself. I wouldn’t mind hopping from town to town and frolicking in the gorgeous purple fields! 😉

Taken from Giverny.org.

5. Giverny, France. From the two times that I have visited Paris, how have I not been to Giverny yet?! After all, it’s only about an hour or so from Paris, which would’ve made an excellent day trip to. Especially since I am crazy when it comes to Impressionist art, I would have loved to see the gardens and ponds that Monet had painted, as well as have taken a tour of the very same house that the great painter himself had lived in. I suppose that, being in Normandy, I still have the opportunity to go visit Giverny as a day trip; it’s fairly accessible, about an hour and a half away from me. One day, though!

Taken from Salzburg Info website.

6. Salzburg, Austria. Birthplace of the genius composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, as well as the setting for The Sound of Music, Salzburg is definitely the hot-spot for all things musical! Not only that, but its baroque architecture looks absolutely fantastic. Whether I choose to stay there for a couple of nights or make a day trip from Vienna, the city of Salzburg is definitely on my bucket list!

Taken from Aktiv Tours.

7. Budapest, Hungary. At first, I didn’t have much interest in visiting Central Europe while I was in France. But after having spent a good amount of time in Prague (and enjoying it) during my paid vacation, I am now interested in hitting up other cities in the area. Budapest is no exception. To be frank, I don’t know much about it, but just like with Prague, I will be sure to learn more about the place when I decide to go visit! 🙂

Taken from Wolkify.

8. Lisbon, Portugal. …then again, anywhere in Portugal is fair game. Just like with Budapest, I didn’t have much interest in visiting Portugal beforehand, just because I didn’t know much about it! But from the photos that I have seen on Tumblr, the country looks truly beautiful. Especially since it’s near the sea, like with Barcelona, Spain, or the islands of Greece. Perhaps I will go there during my Spring vacation, when the weather’s warmer!

Taken from Wikipedia.

9. Stonehenge, England. While not a city in itself, Stonehenge has interested me ever since I learned about it in my history class during middle school (aka a long time ago…). Some people see the monument as just a pile of large rocks, but I, like many historians, believe that its layout has a meaning. Perhaps it was once used as a place for burial or for worship. Maybe it was even used to tell time with shadows from the sun- who knows? In any case, checking out a three thousand-year-plus monument would be excellent as a day trip from London.

Taken from Visit Scotland.

10. Edinburgh, Scotland. Truth be told, I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to visit Scotland, especially since it is rather a long drive from southern England (i.e. London, Canterbury, Dover). But after checking out photos of the Edinburgh Castle, I was immediately captured by its brooding, melancholy beauty. Worth a shot!

Taken from PrWeb.

11. Cinque Terre, Italy. Although I have hit the hot-spots of cities like Rome, Florence, Naples, and Venice, I have yet to experience the wonders of the Cinque Terre. Basically, it is coastline, consisting of five villages and filled with terraces on its rugged hills. Its geography makes for a perfect hiking opportunity- why not? Plus, the warm Italian weather doesn’t hurt, either!

Taken from Viator.

12. Istanbul, Turkey. All the way over to the east is the transcontinental city of Istanbul (considering that it’s straddled between Europe and Asia). Again, the architecture just fascinated me as a kid, when I learned about the Byzantine Empire and the stunning Hagia Sophia. Seriously, the former basilica, ex-mosque of the Hagia Sophia is breath-taking. While it will be rather a stretch to travel all the way over there from the west of Europe, my stay in France is an opportunity for me to check out such an amazing-looking place!

Where would you like to go for your next vacation? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

27 thoughts on “My Bucket List for Europe! (Part 2)

  1. Cinque Terre is amazing! Salzburg is beautiful too, but I recently went to Austria and I have to say my favorite place was Innsbruck. You should definitely look in to going there, it was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been!

  2. You will love Colmar, its so cute and full of French atmosphere along with great food. And of course Cinque Terre can keep you busy exploring for days. You meet the nicest people hiking between the villages then a stop for a local glass of wine or beer before heading off to the next is a great way to get to know them too.

    1. That sounds fantastic! I am not sure if I’ll have time to visit Colmar this time in November (that is, if I can make the trip to Strasbourg and the Alsacian region), but will keep that in the back of my mind for future trips. And Cinque Terre, for sure!

  3. Lisbon is very, very nice. I went there in June. Like you, I wasn’t really attracted by this city but it is beautiful and people are really kind. I also loved houses’ colors and how small the city seems to be (whereas it is big). It is charming. And yay, the Finicky Cynic in Toulouse! *clap clap clap* Well, here is what I think you should visit: le Capitole, la basilique Saint-Sernin, le Jardin Royal, la Cathédrale Saint-Etienne, le Canal du Midi, le jardin japonais, Notre-Dame du Taur, la Cité de l’Espace, le Musée du Vieux Toulouse. There are many other things you can do but if you really want to live like a “Toulousaine”, what you must do is have a walk around the Capitole, there are many hidden artistic/historical messages. 🙂 I come from a small town and to me, Toulouse doesn’t seem very big so… as you are American… you will certainly see it as a small city.

    1. I was thinking of you when writing about Toulouse! Considering that you live there now, I greatly appreciate your suggestions on places to check out while there. I will make it a priority to visit Toulouse while still in France, either as a weekend getaway or during the holidays!

      1. If you plan to visit the South, you can pass by Toulouse and stay two or three days, I think it is enough to see the most important. If you stay longer, you’ll become like us and “flâner” (laze, stroll?) in the streets with no purpose but admire its beauty. 🙂

  4. Been to 7 out of 12 and hope to visit the rest at some point in life! Giverny is amazing, Budapest and Stonehenge are fascinating, Caen and Edinburgh are awesome, Lisbon is a blast. Oh and Toulouse is quite cute.

    Thanks for this post. I hope people follow your example and never stop traveling out of fear, because that would be letting them win. I’m coming to Paris next month for the first time in 3 years and can’t wait 🙂

    1. Yes, definitely! That, and money issues should never be the case for not traveling (even if it can be crippling!). I wish you a wonderful time in Paris next month; make sure to write and share all of your adventures there!

  5. You will have an incredible time here in Europe! Ive been here for the past 5 months and Ive already booked my ticket back for next summer and spring! Your list looks amazing. The stonehenge was also on my list, but after hearing all the complaints about it being just a pile of stones, I was sad to skip it this time around. Excited to see what you have to say about it!

    1. Excellent! Where do you plan to go in Europe during the spring and summer?

      True, I’ve heard that the day-trip from London to Stonehenge isn’t that worth it, especially with transportation costs…but this is a lifetime opportunity for me, as I don’t know when I can visit again!

      1. Oh my list is pretty big! lol check it out on my most recent blog post! My friend and I are working on narrowing down the list:) Right now its at over 30 places! and i know what you mean. I was really looking forward to seeing it myself but because we are short on time we had to throw it off the list. It was tough lol but it got done! I suppose if there is nothing better to do or see in London then go for it!:)

  6. Pingback: A Weekend in Strasbourg! (Part One) – The Finicky Cynic

  7. Pingback: Destination: Where Next??? – The Finicky Cynic

  8. Pingback: My Bucket List for Asia! (Part 1) – The Finicky Cynic

  9. Pingback: My Bucket List for France! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

