Solidarity (poem)

(In light of the horrific events that occurred in Paris, Beirut, Baghdad, Syria, and Japan, on the 13th of November, 2015, I decided to write a poem that expressed my emotions concerning these incidents. Granted, it was a struggle for me to draft the poem, and had doubts of whether its length was sufficient or not. In the end, though, I chose to keep it as is. Hope you enjoy).

Solidarity

A candle
please, by the windowsill.

Remember the night
that stole a city,
a country, many others
across the ocean,
too far away

to be touched by warmth.

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

6 thoughts on “Solidarity (poem)

    1. My apologies. I thought that I heard something about Japan trying to close its own borders or protect the French embassy headquarters there…but then again, those aren’t “horrific,” as you had wrote. However, was there an earthquake that hit that day near the Ryukyu Islands?

Leave a Reply

