Restaurants I Want to Try!

Hello, there!

Now, not only do I love to travel and discover new places and cultures, but I also love to check out what each destination has to offer…in terms of food!

Yes, besides being an individual who enjoys traveling, I am also a massive foodie. Coming from a city as racially and ethnically diverse as Los Angeles, I have been exposed to many types of cuisines that have tickled, pleased, and otherwise seduced my tastebuds. 😉 A while ago, I wrote a post about the must-have cuisines to try out while in Los Angeles: if interested, you can check it out here.

Granted, even though I am in France (considered “the capital of gastronomy”) and have been living here for a couple of months, I haven’t had many opportunities to go out and try new food places. It’s not because I don’t have the time to (trust me, I do!), but rather I am situated in a small town in Normandy, and there aren’t many options when it comes to restaurants. I do have to say, though, that the three-course meal that I had while staying in my town’s hotel for a few nights upon arrival, as well as the one-and-only Moroccan restaurant in town, were pretty good. Not only that, but also I just don’t have the money to go out often to eat! I do not earn a lot for my job, and so most of it goes towards rent, food, and my travels.

In any case, I have made a list of places–restaurants, bakeries, and cafés– that is, if I had the money, would like to try. With the exception of one of them, the rest are from the good ol’ US of A; perhaps I will go check them out once I arrive back from France!

Without further ado, let’s get to them! 🙂

Taken from Viet World Kitchen.

1. Baohaus (New York City, New York). A play-on of the German bauhaus (referring to an art school in Germany during the 20th century), Baohaus is the brain-child of Eddie Huang, a Taiwanese-American chef and entrepreneur. Not only is he famous for his restaurant, but also for his hit memoir-turned-television series Fresh Off the Boat. 

For me, as a Taiwanese-American, I have grown up with a lot of Chinese and Taiwanese dishes, at home and at restaurants. Therefore, for Huang to take the traditional bao (steamed bun) and turn it into a hip and modernized dish, that combines both the familiar and new for my taste buds. In other words, I’m interested! So the next time I decide to visit New York, I’ll be sure to see what the hype is all about with Baohaus! 🙂

Taken from New Orleans Tango Festival.

2. Café du Monde (New Orleans, Louisiana). Located in the French Quarter of New Orleans, this world-famous coffee shop has been on my radar for a long time. While I’m not a coffee person, I am definitely a dessert addict! And beignets are no exception! If you don’t know what beignets are, imagine them as soft, delicate pillows full of sugar and happiness. 😉

Haha, I’m (partly) joking. But still, beignets are sweet! They are basically plain donuts dusted with a ton of powdered sugar (and then some if you want to add more!). Never been to the South, but would be willing to take a trip down there, just for the beignets! 😛

Taken from Pinterest.

3. Voodoo Donuts (Portland, Oregon). Besides wanting to visit the Pacific Northwest (such as Oregon and Washington), I would also like to try Voodoo Donuts! Granted, I have heard that it is over-hyped and all, but seriously, those people-shaped donuts look so cute…and creepy! Wouldn’t mind biting off the head of some of them (heh heh heh…). 😉

Taken from Xotic Food.

4. Animal (Los Angeles, California). Two words: bone marrow. Never have I had bone marrow, and the idea of it intrigues me. Considering that the restaurant is in the city that I’m from, it would not be a hassle to go check it out! Seems perfect for a date night as well…if you’re feeling carnivorous! 😉

Taken from The Delicious Life.

5. Meals by Genet (Los Angeles, California). Located near the Urban Light of LACMA (which I’ve been to in this post), this Ethiopian restaurant sounds absolutely divine. My roommates from college had had their dinner there one night and said nothing but good things about the food. Plus, I haven’t had Ethiopian food before, so why not give it a try?

Taken from Trip Advisor.

6. Milk (Los Angeles, California). The main shop is located in Beverly Hills, and I have heard that it serves up amazing ice cream desserts, including the hip-and-trendy macaron ice cream sandwich. True, you can get those almost anywhere nowadays, but why not try it at the shop that prides itself on dairy-based desserts?

There are also cupcake cones and other delicious products that I’m interested in trying, so I’m looking forward to trying all of them once I return to Los Angeles!

Taken from Food Travel Blog.

7. Chez Panisse (Berkeley, California). Heading up north, this high-end restaurant is famous for starting what is known as the “Californian cuisine” back in the 1970’s. Specifically, Chez Panisse (co-founded by food activist Alice Waters) uses local and organic products for its dishes, which has a great influence on today’s food culture in California, in terms of the organic movement.

While I am sure that the dishes aren’t anything mind-blowing, the fact that it’s a one-starred Michelin restaurant (and in California!) makes me want to go up north to get a taste of what California is all about. 😛

Taken from Wikipedia.

8. Noma (Copenhagen, Denmark). Ranked as the #1 restaurant in the world, Noma is not only known for its highly-experimental Nordic cuisine, but also its notorious reservation list (requiring booking at least three months in advance).

While I was in Copenhagen three years ago, I didn’t go to Noma. Basically because 1) I didn’t have a reservation, and 2) I didn’t have the money to afford the twenty-course meal (or so I’ve heard, being tapas-style and everything). But I swear, once I have the money and time, I will return to Copenhagen and feast myself on what Noma has to offer!

What restaurants would you like to try? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

9 thoughts on “Restaurants I Want to Try!

  1. mentalbreakinprogress

    Everything looks so good I don’t even know where to start! 🙂 lol it’s almost 1 AM here right now and you have me heading to the fridge! lol Cheers! 🙂

      1. mentalbreakinprogress

        So happy to hear! I love living here..mountains AND ocean lol doesn’t get much better than that 🙂

  2. Yum, this list just made me hungry. I’ve only been to Cafe du Monde from this list. So good and definitely must go there if you’re ever in New Orleans. I live in New York so really no excuse but I’ve never been to Baohaus. But thanks for the suggestion. I definitely need to head there soon.

Leave a Reply

