Hello- Adele (SSJ #11)

Hello…

it’s Adele…

…and she’s back.

Now, I know that this song is super popular and getting to be a *teensy bit* overplayed on the radio, but really, I think “Hello” is one of Adele’s better songs that I have heard from her so far in her musical career.

…not to say that I don’t like Adele. I think she has a solid, powerful voice, but it’s her genre– blues and soul– that I’m not such a fan of. I’m not going to lie and say that I didn’t enjoy tracks such as “Rumour Has It” and “Hello,” but in general, I never got what the hype was all about back in 2011, when “Rolling in the Deep” and “Someone Like You” were played over and over again on the radio.

I suppose, though, if her songs weren’t so overplayed, I might have enjoyed her songs from 21 a bit more. But unfortunately, that isn’t the case…that’s life… 😛

BUT, getting back to the slow jam: when I first heard “Hello,” I found it…refreshing. It was unlike her previous songs, which were usually louder and more bombastic, with a full orchestra and everything. Adele sounds more vulnerable here, and the chorus is hauntingly catchy. You have to admit, too, that the music video is brilliantly produced.

So, Adele…you’ve made me a fan, for the moment. Will need to hear more songs from the newest album, 25, in order to see if I really have become a newly-minted Adele follower.

In any case, enjoy this week’s slow jam! Have a good rest of the weekend. 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

9 thoughts on “Hello- Adele (SSJ #11)

  1. I agree with everything you said here. I, too, didn’t quite get the hype back in 2011. Those songs were okay after a few listens, but not anything I’d listen to repeatedly. And then “Hello” came out and I sort of sat up and paid attention.

  2. I love Adele, I am a huge fan, but I totally agree : we hear “Hello” way too much! We don’t have time to really appreciate it (like good wine, #frenchargument). Did you listen to When we were young? It is beautiful too.

  3. Yeah, I’m liking “Hello” too; the relatively spare instrumentals add to the power of the song. But for me, “21” as a whole was too powerful to ignore; Adele’s command there literally grabbed me and demanded attention. As for the “overplayed on the radio” thing, that can happen with any artist really. Radio stations tend to play the same songs by the same artists so much that even the best music can be run into the ground and the listener is left wondering, “Well, what else you got?” Great suggestions above regarding the “diamonds in the rough” that I’m sure no radio programmer would be interested in (their loss).

    1. Absolutely! Your opinion is valid; I admit, it wasn’t just a matter of the songs being overplayed that I didn’t dig Adele so much, but perhaps the genre didn’t mesh, either. In any case, I’m glad that I gave “Hello” a try, and Adele as well!

  4. Pingback: California Dream (A Letter to My Crush, Part 19) – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

