Thanksgiving 2015

Hello, folks!

Taken from Jane Bailey Bain.

Yes, it’s officially Turkey Day today! 😀

This year is especially strange for me, as it is the first time that I won’t be celebrating the holiday at home. As you know, I am currently spending the next six months abroad in France, teaching English in the Normandy region.

Not to say that Thanksgiving was a huge party back home, either. Throughout childhood and into my young-adult years, most of the Thanksgivings that I spent with family were pretty low-key, with just a nice dinner (almost always with ham, not turkey, interestingly enough). I do recall in my early childhood that my sister and I would tune into the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, followed by “The National Dog Show,” on television. But otherwise, the holiday wasn’t such a huge affair as so-called “traditional” American households make it out to be.

But now, everything’s different. I have realized that, while those Thanksgiving celebrations back at home were relatively small occasions, they seem grand compared to living on my own now in France. I’m not a huge cook, so I am not planning to prepare and make a turkey or anything. I don’t have roommates, either, and so I can’t share my food with anyone, if I were to make a feast.

Plus, I am working on Thanksgiving Day; unlike the United States and Canada, France does not celebrate this particular holiday. The students who I teach have heard of it, but don’t know much about it except in school lessons on American culture. In any case, no one gets the day off on Thanksgiving- still gotta teach!

Even though I am writing all of this down right now, I don’t want the post to turn depressing or anything. Yes, I do miss home and being with family, but it’s not too bad. I still plan to call my family later today to talk to them properly, wishing them a happy holiday and all. Really, it’s not as bad as it seems. It is true that I am thankful for those– family, friends, people who I’ve met so far in France– who have continued to stay in touch with me, despite the distance and our busy lives. Really, they do mean a lot to me. ❤

In any case, I wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving, whether with friends, family, or both- even alone, like me! There’s always a way to enjoy yourself, with or without people. Until later, bon appetit! 😛

For last year’s post on Thanksgiving, click here.

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

15 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2015

  1. directorb

    I can definitely understand being away from home on Thanksgiving being difficult, but the opportunity you have is amazing. The experiences you have as you study abroad, you will carry with you forever. Best wishes to you today.

  2. pizzaatmidnight

    Happy Thanksgiving! It is quite different celebrating the holiday outside the US, but I hope it’s a great day regardless of where you are or what you do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

