A Weekend in Lyon! (Part Two)

Welcome back! If you haven’t read Part One of my weekend getaway to Lyon, check it out here:https://thefinickycynicat.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/a-weekend-in-lyon-part-one/.

Anyway, let’s continue…

After my day trip to Annecy the day before, the following day was a Sunday, and I woke up to begin my day exploring Lyon. For some strange reason, my phone had decided not to charge the night before (I think it has something to do with my converter…), and so I was on 7 percent battery! It completely freaked me out, as I rely on my phone to take the incredible photos that I show during my travels. Alas, I couldn’t do anything about it…I did manage to get a few photos in of Place Bellecour and the Saint Jean-Baptiste Cathedral, but otherwise I could not for the rest of the day. Sad… 😦

Any case, I started at Place Bellecour, then essentially made a loop around the city. Took a peek inside the Saint Jean-Baptiste Cathedral before making the hike up the hill to Minimes, where the Roman ruins were, as well as the Fourvière, a beautiful district with the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière and an incredible view of the city.

Place Bellecour.
Place Bellecour.
Saint Jean-Baptiste Cathedral.
Saint Jean-Baptiste Cathedral.

The hike up was kind of a pain, and even though my phone was unable to capture the moment at the top, the climb was nevertheless worth it. Not too many tourists up there; I can imagine that it can get quite crowded during other times of the year!

Afterwards, I made my way down to look for Brasserie Georges, a restaurant that Kristen also recommended that I try out. Although a touristy joint, the brasserie nevertheless is popular for serving Lyonnaisse food, as I found out when I arrived, after getting lost for over an hour trying to find the place. 😛

Ordered a quenelle along with my Chardonnay. Also asked if I could charge my phone there (which the waiters accepted) and accidentally broke a wine glass at the bar (whoopsie…), but other than that, it was a super cool place, with decor representing the 19th century, during which the restaurant was established. I admit, the quenelle wasn’t anything spectacular, and I probably should’ve ordered the three-course prix-fixe meals for €0.50 more (I saw the dishes from other tables; they looked fantastic), but at least I got to have a “Lyonnaise” experience.

By the time that I finished lunch, it was 13h30, and the grad school orientation was to take place at 15h00. Although it seemed like ample time to get there (the meeting was located near Part Dieu), it was still a 40-minute trek over from the restaurant, which is closer to the Perrache train station.

…and so began my two hours of getting incredibly lost, just trying to get back to the city center and to the orientation meeting. I had taken screenshots of the directions on how to get there beforehand, but I still could not navigate myself! If there is one thing that I have learned anything from my experiences while traveling, then it is the fact that I have little to no sense of direction. It takes me at least two, maybe three times in the same area to remember it. Jesus Christ…

Eventually, I found the location and slipped in as quietly as I could into the meeting room. I was already forty minutes late. But it didn’t matter, as it was sort of a seminar-style setup with a long table and people sitting in a rectangle formation around the room. What surprised me about the orientation, though, was that the presenter, who is a professor at the grad school for translation and interpretation, gave us the nitty-gritty, technical details of what it takes to be a translator and/or interpreter (two fields of which I didn’t know the difference beforehand).

Personally, I didn’t find the meeting to be incredibly…encouraging, as the grad school program is 1) super expensive, about $30,000 a year, 2) can be very technical work, translating/interpreting medical procedures, law documents, and so forth (not necessarily literature stuff, which is a completely different field), and 3) if I am to be able to translate from my “A” language (English) to my “B” language (French, or any other non-native language), then I need to have a stronger mastery over the latter, which right now is nowhere near fluent (basically, the presenter told us that, if we are able to spend five minutes talking about complex topics like climate change or politics, using high-register vocabulary, then we should be fine in the program. Uhhh…).

Any case, the orientation was expected to end at about 17h00, but come 17h40 and I was still there, listening to the presenter talk on and on (and unnecessarily so), as well as hearing people in the audience continuing to ask question after question. I get that some of the people are interested in the program, and probably will apply, but for me, I just wasn’t really interested. Especially after hearing all about the technicalities of being a translator/interpreter and after having had a long day exploring (and getting lost) in Lyon. Finally, I left quietly as the meeting was still going on to return home; I was done.

Arrived back at Kristen’s place around 18h00, and spent the rest of the night chilling out. Turned in for the night, and woke up early the following morning to pack up (as it was my final day in Lyon), thank Kristen for her hospitality (before she left for work), and return to the places in Lyon in which I didn’t get photo opportunities, due to my phone being weird. Passed by Place Bellecour again, hiked up to Minimes, then the Fourvière, and got an incredible shot of the entire city of Lyon. Absolutely wonderful…

Roman theatre (in Minimes).
Roman theatre (in Minimes).
The Basilica Notre-Dame de Fourvière.
The Basilica Notre-Dame de Fourvière.
View of Lyon from the top!
View of Lyon from the top!

Afterwards, I descended the hill, and paid a brief visit to les Halles de Lyon again to purchase les coussins, those famous Lyonnaise sweets, before heading to Part Dieu to meet up with my BlaBlaCar driver to head back to Normandy. The journey back took significantly less time than getting to Lyon: no accidents, less stops, and not as packed with other carpoolers. Arrived back in Rouen around 16h30, then took the two buses back to my little town. Came back close to 20h00- tired, but glad to be home. Had a ton of things to get done before heading to work the following morning, but I didn’t regret my time spent in Lyon.

That’s about it for me! More travel adventures to come very soon (and you can bet on that!). 😉

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

6 thoughts on “A Weekend in Lyon! (Part Two)

  1. Pingback: A Weekend in Lyon! (Part Three) – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

