Things I Do When Home Alone…

Hello, folks!

This post will be a quick (and rather cheeky!) one, as I am currently super busy with a million things to take care of (e.g. teaching, planning my travels, looking into work/grad school opportunities, etc). But I didn’t want to leave you hanging without a post for the day, so here it is! πŸ™‚

As you know, I amΒ in France for the moment, and am living on my own in a nice, fairly-spacious flat provided by my school’s professor. It was pretty much fully equipped when I moved in; the only things that I needed to buy were groceries and personal hygiene stuff! And the monthly rent is not bad at all- at least, compared to what assistants in the big cities are paying for theirs (which I have heard are nightmare-ish).

Anyway, I have this place all to myself, and I love it. Having had roomed with people in dorms/apartments throughout my whole four years of college, I was ready to have some privacy. True, it gets kind of lonely sometimes, but still, I like my quiet place.

Yet, after living on my own for the past few months, I have come to notice a few, erm, “particular” things that I do when being at home. For those of you who live by yourself, I am sure that you can relate to some of these points that I will share with you below.

From the weird to the amusing to just plain disgusting, here is a list of things that I do when home alone!

  • Talking to myself, sometimes even having small conversations! I swear, I’m not crazy! πŸ˜›
  • Playing music without headphones and just letting the melody fill the natural acoustics of the room. β™ͺ β™« β™ͺ
  • Never needing to close any of the doors: I already have privacy!
  • Sneezing, coughing, or farting to my heart’s content- no judgment! πŸ˜‰
  • Walking around,Β erm, sans clothes.Β *sometimes*
  • Putting my family/friends on-speaker when calling them. No need to go outside of the room to talk!
  • Leaving clothes on the drying rack for days, even after they’re completely dried, and only putting them away when I need to do my next laundry load!
  • Allowing the trash to accumulate, until it’s stuffed to the brim that I finally take it outΒ (then again, I don’t accumulate junk too quickly, since I’m on my own).

…and that’s all I can think of for now! What about you? Are there weird things that you do when home alone? Let me know! πŸ˜€

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

21 thoughts on “Things I Do When Home Alone…

  1. Deb

    I do all these things! When there is a knock at my door it takes me forever to open coz I need to get dressed first! Enjoy these moments.

  2. Definitely for me, it’s the laundry thing. But since I share a washer/dryer with neighbors, I sometimes leave a freshly laundered batch of clothing in the laundry basket until I either (A) need something clean to wear or (B) finally get around to hanging them in the closet.

  3. I leave cups of water everywhere. It’s completely unintentional. Thirsty? Where was that glass I had… Nevermind, I’ll just get another one!

    Strange and very much like that little girl from the movie Signs.

  4. I lived on my own for the first time ever in life when my boyfriend had to move to North Carolina for 2 months (before I moved in with him, I always had roommates–NYC’s kinda pricey if you’re on your own). I did enjoy never having to close the bathroom door, but you have to be careful–it becomes a habit! Now I have to consciously remember to close it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

