1000 Follows on WordPress!!!

Wow!

As of today, I received 1000 follows on WordPress! Oh man, I don’t know what to say…

…except thank you. πŸ™‚

It has taken me over two years to arrive at this point on WordPress. From its humble beginnings as a critiqueΒ blog on random topics that pop into my mind (e.g. social media, pop culture, etc) to a diverse blend of poetry, musings, and of recent, travel adventures, “The Finicky Cynic” has certainly come a long way.

Over these couple of years, blogging has become a large part of my life, as I am constantly on the site and checking up on the WordPress community: writing, reading, commenting, and otherwise contributing to the growing site. I meet new bloggers every day, getting to know them through comment thread discussions, both amicable and stimulating. Some bloggers have even become what I would call my friends, as we have branched out beyond the blogging world and into other social media outlets (which I tend to fiercely guard, for security reasons). Over the years, I have become open, willing to share more and more of myself with, well, all of you- my audience. Really, I appreciate it.

Everyone says this (and usually it’s not genuine), but numbers shouldn’t matter when it comes to social media. That is true, but to a certain extent: I believe that, when you’re first starting out as a blogging novice, you do have that part in the back of the brain that desires some recognition from the WordPress community. You write posts, share them, and really push to get yourself out there. Every “Like” or comment you receive adds to your self-confidence, and it becomes a cycle of desiring more and more of them.

I am not going to lie, but I was like that during my first eighteen months of blogging. It wasn’t until a few months ago that I started to care less about the number of people who read my posts, and more about how each post meant to me. I try to write what is relevant to me at the moment, whether it’s about being a twenty-something-year-old, about my current travels and experiences abroad, or with poetry. Corny as it sounds, my passion for different topics knows no bounds.

I am hesitant to say that blogging has become a “career” for me, as I do not get paid for writing what I write. Instead, it has continued to be a hobby of mine, as I have always enjoyed writing, and will continue to do so in the future.

Thank you once again to all of those who read and comment on my posts. In return, I would like to make another Q&A post (previous one here:Β https://thefinickycynicat.wordpress.com/2015/05/15/500-follows-on-wordpress-and-announcement/) as a gift to all of you who read and share yourself with me, as much as I share myself with you.

That said, ask any questions that you would like me to answer: about me, my blog, etc. Feel free to use the Comments to write them, or send them to me via private messaging on Facebook (always linked below each of my posts) or my Tumblr:Β penguinlikespies.tumblr.com. I will continue to make this post sticky over the next week, so that everyone gets a chance to see and ask questions!

All right, before I ramble even more, I will stop here and leave you. Still on vacation, but will return soon to a regular posting schedule. Thanks all, and have yourself a great day! πŸ˜€

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

44 thoughts on “1000 Follows on WordPress!!!

      1. Okay so here goes-
        You seem to have travelled quite a bit and so which continent do you like better, north America or Europe, in terms of travel?
        What are the top three places on your travel list that you haven’t been to yet?
        Why did you initially start your blog and did you ever think that it would grow so huge?
        That’s all for now! Hope you’ll answer them. πŸ™‚

  1. Congratulations! That really is amazing and you totaly deserve it.
    And yes you are right, it is not even our fourth month since our first blog post so we definetly are to be honest still stuck in that mode of looking for numbers. But with you as a motivation in mind we will try to not be as depended on them. Thank you!

  2. Congratulations on the “1000 followers” plateau, F.C. Good thoughts, too, on the quantity-versus-quality thing; writing things that make you happy is more important than writing things that will get the most clicks.

  3. Pingback: Ask Me Questions!!! (for Q&A) – The Finicky Cynic

  4. Pingback: Q&A Time!!! – The Finicky Cynic

  5. Pingback: Q&A Time!!! – The Finicky Cynic

  6. Pingback: Q&A Time!!! – The Finicky Cynic

  7. Pingback: 2000 Follows on WordPress (thank you)! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

