I’m Back Home!!!

YES!!! 😀

After eight, long months of living, working, and traveling in France (as well as all over Europe), I am finally back in the good ol’ US of A. Back home in my hometown of Los Angeles, and man, it feels so good to have returned.

Not to say that I didn’t enjoy my almost-year abroad, living the pseudo “ex-pat life” and all. In fact, I loved it. While it wasn’t perfect, and admittedly had a more disillusioned view of the French people and culture after leaving, I have to say that I don’t regret having chosen to go to France. Not at all. 

From these last eight months away, I have learned to become more independent: paying rent, working, and settling bureaucratic stuff on my own, especially in a language (namely, French) which isn’t my native one. Wanderlust became intense and alive for me, as I basically went crazy with travel throughout the months, visiting not only numerous cities in France, but also countries in Europe. In total, I have visited fifteen countries this year (France included), which doesn’t include the ones that I had visited before coming to work in Europe. Basically, you can say that I’ve pretty much conquered Europe! 😀

Any case, I came back to Los Angeles on May 5th, after a nauseated, but otherwise smooth, direct eleven-hour flight from Paris. My teaching contract had ended on April 30th, and so before I went back, I decided to squeeze in a last-chance trip to…Italy! Specifically, the Cinque Terre, aka the “five villages” along the west coast of Italy that is famous for its hiking trails between each village, with colorful houses along the cliffs (UNESCO World Heritage Site-approved) and the deep, turquoise-blue sea. For four nights, I was there, doing some *intense* hiking to the villages. Utterly amazing, and I am so glad to have gone there. Since tomorrow is Mother’s Day, posts about my travels to the Cinque Terre will be up on Monday, so look out for them!

Now, you might be wondering: what do I plan to do now after leaving France? As for that, I don’t know. At least, not yet. Currently, my future is looking uncertain, but I hope that in the next couple of months I will hear back or figure something out for the next year (and thereafter). As for this blog, I will continue to post daily, as I have lots of ideas to put out and share with you. Can’t guarantee that many of them will be travel-related after this month, since I am back at home, but I do hope that you will continue to enjoy reading whatever I write in the months to come.

Thank you for everything this past year: your comments, your support, and most of all, your passion for discovering new things every day- just as much as I love, too. Catch up with you later! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

15 thoughts on “I’m Back Home!!!

  1. Welcome back home, F.C. Glad to hear you made it back safely. Can’t wait to hear of your latest adventures (I’ll bide the time while catching up on your previous ones).

  2. cherry

    Hey ! That must have been an amazing trip. I too would like to work for a short period in a foreign country and become all independent and stuff. So wish me luck. Los Angeles is a place full of creative talent. So I’m sure you’ll figure out your future. Keep those travel posts coming 😀

    1. Indeed, it was amazing! Thank you. I definitely encourage you to work abroad, as the experience is so enriching. Good luck!

      …and will do on the travel posts. Look out for them very soon!

    1. I did have fun! My French has somewhat improved, but I have yet to become fluent! I wish you all the best with France next year; I’m certain that you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

