Destination: Monterosso al Mare, Italy

(Welcome to the first post of the Cinque Terre villages that I visited during the first week of May. Since these villages are so small, I will dedicate each post to one of the five villages in 300 words or less, which I will call “Postcard Snapshots.” Enjoy!). 🙂

Postcard Snapshot #1: Monterosso al Mare, Italy

On the way to Monterosso.
On the way to Monterosso.

Located in the Liguria region of Italy, Monterosso (as it’s often shortened) is the northern-most village of the five in the Cinque Terre. It is the only town to have a beach with sand and everything (the other villages’ “beaches” are too rocky and treacherous to do so), and is known to have been a popular place for pirate attacks back in the day. Also known for its famous “salted anchovies,” which unfortunately I didn’t have time to try, but would’ve like to!

Hiked over to Monterosso from Vernazza (another Cinque Terre village) on my first full day in Italy. Went with another assistant (let’s call her “Annie”) and we had met up with an Italian couple who Annie knew to hike together. Trail was long, with lots of ups and downs, rocky steps, and incredible views of the Italian coast.

The hike took two hours, but eventually we made it to Monterosso around 14h30. Annie and I split off from the Italian couple and we headed into town to explore.

In Monterosso.
In Monterosso.

We popped into one of the many gelaterias where we got the most amazing, authentic-tasting gelato that I had ever tasted in my life. I got the malaga, which was rum-raisin flavored (definitely tasted the rum- yum!) and the special cinque terre, which was a combination of vanilla and lemon, the latter a local item in the region.

Amazing gelato in town!
Amazing gelato in town!

Afterwards, we headed to the beach, where we chilled out, soaked up the sun, and caught the train back to Corniglia (another Cinque Terre village in which we were staying while visiting Italy) for the evening.

Overall, I would say that, while the hike to Monterosso was absolutely lovely, the village itself was my least favorite out of the other ones. It is the largest village, and I just felt that it didn’t have as much charm as the others, and the buildings weren’t as bright and colorful. Any case, glad that I was able to visit!

More Cinque Terre posts to come soon. Ciao! 😉

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

8 thoughts on “Destination: Monterosso al Mare, Italy

  1. Can’t wait for the full series of postcard snapshots. I have such strong memories of my time in Cinque Terre. Next month I’m writing about the wines of Liguria…including Cinque Terre & a bottle or two from Monterosso.

    Thanks for sharing the pictures and story. Looking forward to more.

    1. How awesome! Indeed, the Cinque Terre is an amazing area in Italy. I’ll look out for your posts about Liguria wine; they sound really exciting! Thank you. 🙂

    1. Yes, I have heard! If I’m not wrong, I think it was to limit the amount of tourists during the summer, but I’m not sure. I didn’t have a problem going to the Cinque Terre, but then again, it’s off-season, I believe! All of the villages are absolutely gorgeous, I agree!

  2. Pingback: Destination: Santa Margherita Ligure & Portofino, Italy – The Finicky Cynic

  3. Pingback: Destination: Pisa, Italy – The Finicky Cynic

  4. Pingback: An Afternoon Hike! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

