Destination: Pisa, Italy

Hello, hello!

You might be well aware of my recent trip to Italy back in the beginning of May, as I have been writing post after post about it, from the gorgeous five villages of the Cinque Terre to the short day trip to Santa Margherita and Portofino– all of which you can read up on on this blog!

Any case, rounding up the trifecta of my Italian trip is no other than Pisa, famous for the eponymous Leaning Tower. Why did I go there, you might ask? Basically, my flights in and out of Italy were from Pisa; technically, I could’ve booked to have arrived and left from Genoa (which would’ve been more efficient to get to the Cinque Terre), but flight times weren’t ideal for me. Nevertheless, Pisa is a lovely city, although not very exciting in terms of what to do there- really, all you need to see is the Leaning Tower! 😛

Between leaving the Cinque Terre on my final day in Italy and catching my plane back to France, I had a couple of hours to kill in Pisa. Certainly I wouldn’t have time to visit museums or other places in the city, but I knew that I should at least visit the Leaning Tower before I couldn’t! Although it was very touristy of me to do so, I wanted to see the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

From the city center, the Leaning Tower is about a 30-40 minute walk. It wasn’t difficult to find at all, since you see the signs pointing you towards the place, as well as the throngs of people who head in that general direction. Located in the Piazza del Duomo, the Tower of Pisa cannot be missed.

Of course, there were tons of people there that day, as weather was warm and all. You can also bet that many of them were trying to take a “leaning” photo with the tower, pretending to push or hold it up through the “art of illusion,” if you know what I mean. 😛 I tried, but did not find any of my attempts successful, so I gave up and took “normal, unperturbed” photos of the Leaning Tower:

...and voilà!
…and voilà!
Close-up of the Tower of Pisa.
Close-up of the Tower of Pisa.

…and that was about it! After taking a few photos of the famous Tower, I headed back to the city center, where I caught the bus over to the airport to catch my flight back. My stay in Pisa was brief, but I’m glad to have seen the Leaning Tower in-person. Cross that off of my bucket list! 😉

Thanks for reading- ciao! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

Leave a Reply

