Destination: Where Next???

Aha!

Got you there, didn’t I? Thought you were expecting another travel post of my next destination, but I tricked you there! 😉

Really, though: ever since returning to the United States two weeks ago, the wanderlust in me hasn’t disappeared yet. This entire past year of being in France, with super-easy access to traveling around Europe, fired me up for traveling…and now I can’t stop!

Don’t get me wrong, being back in the comforts of my home in Los Angeles is great; it’s been a long time since I saw my family and friends, so seeing them again was a much-needed homecoming for me. But still, I seriously missed the freedom and joy of traveling all over Europe. The cultures I discovered, as well as the friendships that I made…those moments can’t be replaced by materialistic things like diamond necklaces or Ferraris. Heck, even the photos taken whilst abroad don’t do justice to how incredible they were!

15 countries, 80-plus cities in eight months…that is what I call going all-out! It is very clear that I well took advantage of my time in Europe. Before going, I had a bucket list(s)– see here and here— of places that I desired to visit, and with the exception of one place (still need to get around to Istanbul!), I pretty much satisfied my list(s)! Truly, I have no regrets. 🙂

So…the big question: what now? Or, more specifically: where to next? In fact, I have plans to travel this summer, starting in June! While I won’t reveal where I’ll be going just yet, the fact that I will be out-and-about again makes me so happy! 😀

After this summer, though, I am not so sure. Things are still really tentative with me right now, and that worries me. Not only for traveling, but also for life, in general. It’s quite personal for me, and perhaps I will open up to you about it later, but until then, I’m working through it. :/

Overall, I want to say that this past year being abroad has certainly changed me, especially in terms of growing as a traveler. From my humble roots as a nervous, fretting backpacker to now, as a seasoned, calm and collected adventurer (for the most part, that is), I am proud of what I’ve accomplished so far in my young twenty-three years of life on this earth, and hope to do the same throughout my twenties…and beyond!

Here’s to more wonderful adventures ahead! Until later. 😀

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

4 thoughts on “Destination: Where Next???

  1. Don’t fret, F.C; you’re far from the only person who feels that way. Having to re-acclimate to the drudgery of home starts me to thinking about where else would be a good place to travel to.

    1. Exactly how I have been feeling, Allison! Doesn’t help that I will be out traveling again in another month. Really, the wanderlust doesn’t ever stop!

    1. Absolutely! While I can imagine that it might be challenging for families to travel, especially with small children, it’s not impossible. In fact, there are some families out there who go out a lot- it’s admirable! But it’s definitely an advantage to travel while still young and solo. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

