Best Thing I Never Had- Beyoncé (SSJ #23)

Greetings! Happy Sunday. 🙂

Returning to my weekly, slow-jam sessions (for last week’s, check it out here), today’s song is no other than by Beyoncé, aka Sasha Fierce/Queen B/’Yoncé, whatever you would like to call her.

I am well aware that she is at the top of the charts these days, and has an insanely-devoted fan base all over this “mother——- world” (a reference to one of her songs. Guess which?). And especially ever since “Lemonade” blew up a month ago, people just can’t get enough of her. Really, at this point, it’s a crazy, crazy world. 😛

Now, I’m not going to go ahead and say that Beyoncé is overrated. Perhaps she is, but she well deserves it for being talented; she does have a good voice, can dance well, and overall knows how to put on a good show for her audience. Indeed, she is naturally a gifted entertainer.

At the same time, I am not going to say that I am a die-hard fan. I haven’t listened to all of her albums, and I don’t follow her on social media. I don’t consider myself part of the Queen B conversation whenever it arises among my friends, peers, colleagues, etc. Simply put, I haven’t been swept up into this ‘Yoncé craze at the moment (perhaps later, but who really knows?).

…but enough about that. This week’s Sunday Slow Jams isn’t featuring any of the recent songs from “Lemonade” (admittedly, I haven’t even seen it yet!), but rather is a throwback to just a few years ago (five, actually…wow, it has been that long?!), when the song “Best Thing I Never Had” was released. A powerful, choir-backed ballad about a former flame who just “wasn’t worth it,” it really showcases the singer’s huge vocals and versatility, which I have to say blew me away. Since discovering the piece, I can’t get enough of it!

The music video that accompanies it is also the source of my admiration for the song. Every film shot, from Beyoncé’s dress to the scenes in the white-filled bedroom to the peaceful, green countryside where the wedding takes place, are all so aesthetically-pleasing that it feels as if you’re watching a freakin’ perfume commercial (you know those ones with the suits and dresses taking place somewhere in Paris or London? Yeah, thought so…I’m looking at you, Natalie Portman). 😛

Reading the lyrics, it’s a surprise to find them so biting, even cathartic. At least, juxtaposed with the soft, serene music video. But that’s what makes the song memorable, and overall just hits you in the absolute feels. Oh, my heart. 

While Bee still has yet to capture my heart, I am well-impressed with “Best Thing I Never Had.” Curiosity will be the death of me, but now I am interested in trying out “Lemonade;” perhaps it will impress me, too?

Any case, enjoy your Sunday! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

2 thoughts on “Best Thing I Never Had- Beyoncé (SSJ #23)

Leave a Reply

