A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 5!)

Hello, there!

Ah…another week of eating out in Los Angeles…but I ain’t complainin,’ though! For my last food adventures in the city, check them out here.

In any case, I went with my family on Sunday to the 626 area (aka Chinese/Vietnamese neighborhood of Los Angeles) for some dim sum brunch. Considering that I hadn’t had it in a long time, I was willing to make the trek over (a 40-45 minute drive from where we lived) just to eat it!

We arrived around 10h00, and the place was already packed! Fortunately, we were able to get a seat right smack-dab in the center of the restaurant; we ordered our food and drank oolong tea as we waited for the dishes to come.

One-by-one they arrived, and we proceeded to dig in with gusto. We had ordered the staple dishes such as siu mai (pork dumplings), har gow (shrimp dumplings), steamed chicken feet, hom sui gok (glutinous rice dumplings), wu gohk (taro dumplings), and har cheung (shrimp noodle rolls). So many, and so good! πŸ˜›

Dim sum time!
Dim sum time!

While I did enjoy the majority of the dishes, some of them could use some troubleshooting. For instance, the har gow was way too fragile, considering that it basically broke when I tried picking it up! The outside skin could’ve used more thickness when preparing it…also, the egg custard bun (one of my favorite dishes) wasn’t warm enough, and so the sweetened egg inside wasn’t runny enough- kind of a disappointment. Regardless, it had been a long while since eating dim sum, and I was glad to have eaten it again! πŸ™‚

On Tuesday, my cousin came over to visit me and my family for the day. We went out to lunch in town, after settling on getting Japanese food. At the place, I ordered soba and a tempura bowl, which actually filled me up quite a bit! Then again, it was carb-on-carb (noodles and rice), so that’s why…still good, though!

Soba and tempura bowl for lunch!
Soba and tempura bowl for lunch!

On Friday, my family and I went out once again for lunch, this time to a new Korean restaurant in the town over. The place particularly specializes in Korean fried chicken and pizza, and so I was really keen on giving them a try! We ordered the original fried chicken, along with sweet and mild chicken wings and a sweet potato pizza (yes, sweet potato! My favorite). While the original fried chicken could’ve used more seasoning, I really enjoyed the bursting flavors of the sweet and mild version, as well as the pizza, whose crust was even stuffed with mashed sweet potato! Mind-blown (and so tasty)! πŸ˜€

Korean cravings...
Korean cravings…

Afterwards, we made a stop by a boba shop, where I got a jasmine milk tea with boba. Drink was okay (more milk than jasmine tea flavor), but the boba wasn’t bad. Still prefer other shop’s, though!

Jasmine milk tea with boba.
Jasmine milk tea with boba.

On the weekend, my family and I went out for lunch at a cafΓ©. Considering that it serves complimentary fries by “checking in” to the place, you can bet that I did so! C’mon, free French fries…why not?! πŸ˜‰

I ordered a chicken rice bowl as my main dish, and it was not bad. Very filling from the rice (aka carbs), and a bit spicy, but otherwise I enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I didn’t take a photo of it, but you can imagine how it must’ve tasted!

On Tuesday, I went out to lunch once more with my family; we hit up a dumpling house where we, of course, got dumplings. We ordered lamb dumplings, as well as a plate of beef rolls (one of my favorites) and pan-fried pork buns. Simple, but not bad! Gotta love Chinese buns and dumplings yum yum. πŸ˜›

Lamb dumplings.
Lamb dumplings.
Pan-fried pork buns.
Pan-fried pork buns.

That night, I went to the city to meet up with some old college friends for dinner. We headed over to West L.A. for some Korean food. At the restaurant, we ordered kimbaps, which is essentially the “Korean sushi.” Portion was quite large (ten pieces, aka an entire roll!), and at $5.50 to $6 total, it wasn’t a bad deal. Definitely filled me up!

Kimchi kimbap- spicy, but yummy!
Kimchi kimbap- spicy, but yummy!

Afterwards, I got boba (again!) at the nearby boba shop; it was a huge cup (even though it said “Small!”). I finished it and almost went into a food coma, but I managed to pull through. πŸ˜› My friends and I ended up going back to one of their apartments, where we spent the rest of the night outside on the rooftop patio, just casually chatting and admiring the view of the Los Angeles city lights. Quite romantic, in a way…but with friends, of course! πŸ˜‰

Anyway, that’s about it for me this week! More food adventures in Los Angeles to come soon. Take care!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

One thought on “A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 5!)

  1. Pingback: A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 6)! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

