My Bucket List for Asia! (Part 2)

Hey there, bloggers!

About a month ago, I wrote a post about some destinations in Asia that I was interested in going to, which you can find here. Considering that I’ve only been to three countries there so far in my life– China, Taiwan, and Japan– I would definitely like to explore more of the different cultures (and cuisines!) out there.

I had only listed five destinations in my last bucket list for Asia, but had gone into depth with each, giving you my reasons as to why I wanted to go there and such. I’ll be doing the same here in this post with more countries I want to visit in Asia.

Without further ado, here they are! 🙂

Taken from Lonely Planet.

1. Korea (North and South)

Along with China and Japan, I consider Korea part of the trifecta encompassing East Asia. Interestingly, I know very little of what there is to do in the country/countries, since all I ever knew about the culture(s) was through watching Korean dramas, listening to K-pop, and eating tons of (delicious) Korean food.

However, I’m aware that, at least in South Korea, there’s the blend of city and urban life (in Seoul) with temples, palaces, and shrines (especially the Gyeongbokgung Palace), which seems not too dissimilar from Japan or China; after all, the three countries were at one point heavily influenced by Chinese culture!

As for North Korea, I decided to add it to my bucket list, just because it’s a country shrouded in mystery and intrigue. I’ve heard many interesting stories from those who visited it, and that inspires me to travel there to see it for myself. We’ll see!

Taken from travelsensafe.com.

2. Malaysia.

Whenever I Google “Malaysia,” I keep seeing photos of this particular tower constantly pop up. Known as the Petronas Towers, which are considered the tallest twin towers in the world at over 1400 feet (450 meters) and 88 stories. Definitely a sight to see! Aside from that, visiting the capital of Kuala Lumpur sounds like a cosmopolitan paradise, as it’s a huge city with shopping, business, and nightlife.

Aside from that, I’d like to go out and visit the numerous national parks and the mosques, since Malaysia has a strong Islamic community. Interestingly, I’d met a Malaysian girl while traveling in Italy who was Muslim, but besides that had sort of inspired me to consider visiting Malaysia in the future (even if she’d never advertised it to me). Until then!

Taken from Youtube.

3. The Philippines.

Just like with Korea, the Philippines remains a bit uncertain for me, in terms of what to see and do. However, I’m aware that it’s in Southeast Asia, so I’m assuming tropical weather with beaches (which is true, with its iconic ones in Boracay) and a diverse mix of cultures and food (influenced by the Chinese, the Spanish, the locals, and many more).

The reason why I would like to visit the Philippines despite not knowing much about it is because I’ve had a few Filipino friends growing up who were proud to represent their cultural heritage (after all, Los Angeles is a huge melting pot of people!), as well as tried Filipino cuisine, which was really interesting and tasty (again, going back to the blend of different world influences). I’m sure I’ll learn much more about the Philippines when I visit!

Taken from thousandwonders.net.

4. Singapore.

Not too far from China is Singapore, which is surprisingly the world’s only city-state. It’s a prosperous one, as it prides itself in having good international business, social policies, and a melting pot of different cultures, many of which are a blend of Chinese, Malay, Indian, and so forth.

Of course, there’s the city life (including the Singapore Flyer, an observation wheel), but there’s also some botanical gardens and a temple or two to visit. Considering that Singapore used to be under British influence, much of the city-state still has that influence to this day. I would choose to go to Singapore for its good reputation in the economy, morals, and overall balance between the city and green life.

Taken from branberries.co.

5. Thailand.

Now, I hear about this particular country a lot, considering that it’s a hugely-popular destination among backpackers and regular tourists alike. I even know of many twenty-something-year-olds who go to Thailand right after college graduation, as a break from schooling and to “live it up,” as it’s a relatively-inexpensive place to spend time in.

I’m told that the country is absolutely beautiful, and I can definitely see it in the photos online. Temples such as the Wat Rong Khun (“White Temple,” as pictured above) look so surreal that you can’t believe that such architecture actually exists in the world; seriously, they are flippin’ gorgeous. There’s also the Elephant Park and although there may or may not be ethical issues in animal treatment in certain parts of the world, being able to be right in front of elephants sounds like a fascinating thing to do.

Taken from e-sushi.fr.

6. Tibet.

While its sovereignty continues to be debated, Tibet nevertheless looks like a naturally gorgeous place to visit, and tourism has actually been shown to increase in recent years. From the Potala Palace featured above to Mount Kailash to its numerous monasteries, Tibet sounds perfect for the adventurous type to go see for themselves. Even though I don’t usually travel for hiking and nature purposes, I would be interested in doing so in Tibet!

Taken from alltrekkersteam.com.

**bonus* Nepal.

This is considered an extra one, as I’d just thought about adding it right now. I have a friend who had spent some time in Nepal and loved it so much that she has encouraged me to swing by there if I were to go to Tibet as well!

Of course, there’s Kathmandu, the capital, as well as plenty of opportunities to visit temples and nature reserves, including the Langtang National Park, which is home to lots of wildlife (e.g. yaks and red pandas). Not sure if it’ll be nippy there during cold season, but we’ll have to find out!

…in any case, that’s about it for my bucket list for Asia! What are some places you would like to see or recommend? Let me know! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

29 thoughts on “My Bucket List for Asia! (Part 2)

  1. Your destinations are all extremely good! Thailand and Philippines I would really like to visit too 😀 japan is also a very nice country in Asia, have you ever been there?

  2. Great list!

    I will be heading to Asia in March and visiting a number of the countries you have listed. Tibet would be quite the adventure however much more expensive to travel through. A very intriguing place nonetheless.

    I am really looking forward to Nepal and doing the Mount Everest Base Camp trek. I suggest you look into Myanmar (Burma). With some borders just recently opened again for tourism the country is said to be pristine and an incredible sight. I am looking forward to visiting there and seeing the Shwedagon Pagoda- a temple plated in gold and studded with precious gems.

    All the best on your future travels!

      1. Thank you! If you would like some other inspiration feel free to check out my travel blog. https://livingitloud.com/

        I am currently writing about my travels through Africa (midway through a post about ostrich riding), which include trekking with mountain gorillas, camping in the serengeti and snorkeling with massive whale sharks!

  3. Nice list! Thanks! I checked your posts about Japan, and I would put Japan back on your list to discover its amazing nature (the Japanese Alps for instance), and the islands of Kyushu, Shikoku and Hokkaido. You may want to check out our interactive map of Japan to get a better idea. Such a fascinating country!

      1. I see you have Tibet on your list. If a visa is a problem, inside mainland China the Buddhist town of Xiahe is a beautiful alternative, and can be followed by a trip to Langmusi on the Tibetan plateau. Amazing part of the world!

      2. That’s amazing! You’re more of a seasoned traveler than I am! I’ll greatly take your advice into consideration should I find myself there someday.

  4. raineystravels

    Korea is wonderful – I’m living and teaching here at the moment. It’s a mix of traditional and contemporary with amazing food. Definitely visit when the opportunity arises!

  5. Pingback: My Bucket List for France! – The Finicky Cynic

    1. Nice to hear from someone who has been to Thailand and Malaysia! I’d love to visit both the touristy and off-the-beaten-path sites in India- will do so should I ever end up going!

Leave a Reply

