A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 6)!

Hey there, bloggers!

It has been over a month since my last “A Week in Los Angeles” post. But it’s back, and I’m here today to share my latest food adventures in my Los Angeles hometown with you! Granted, it won’t be a week’s worth of food stories, but rather spread out over these past few months. Hope you can bear with me!

Any case, let’s get to them! πŸ˜›

First up: in the beginning to middle of August (around the week after my last food adventures), I hit the streets of Los Angeles once more to get some food with old friends from college, as they were heading off the grad school shortly thereafter. In a way, it was our “last hurrah” moment, bonding over the “good times” from our school days, as well as the then-Olympic Games and our uncertain futures (’cause really, we’re twenty-somethings without a clue on life). We got Chinese food near our university campus, treating ourselves to good, ol’ dishes like sauteed green beans, beef pastry rolls, and dan-dan noodles. All was good!

Dan-dan noodles, beef pastry rolls, and sauteed green beans.
Dan-dan noodles, beef pastry rolls, and sauteed green beans.

Even after we finished eating, we continued to chat until mid-afternoon, when it was time to leave and head our separate ways. Although it was a brief meet-up, I’m glad to have saw them before we left for the next two or three years of grad school.

Later in the week, I went out to lunch with my family to a nearby Korean supermarket that also has a small food court inside; the setup makes it convenient for customers to eat first before continuing with shopping. I’ve eaten a lot of Korean dishes before, but hadn’t tried the naengmyun (cold noodles) before, so I decided to order them. It came in a huge, chilled bowl, filled with tons of translucent, cold noodles and vegetable pieces, along with some hot broth served in a Styrofoam cup on the side. Definitely a new experience; I admit, I found it difficult to eat the noodles since they were rather clumpy and hard to chew. Not to say I didn’t like it, but again, it was quite the experience; I wouldn’t choose to order it again, though. πŸ˜›

Naengmyun (cold noodles).
Naengmyun (cold noodles).

The following week or so, my family and I stopped by the local bakery-cafe to buy some bread for breakfast. In the meantime, I wanted to get a drink, so I ordered the cold matcha latte with boba, which turned out to be surprisingly pretty good! I love matcha milk tea, but it’s actually difficult to find it in boba shops for some reason. Also considering that I was very turned-off by this particular bakery-cafe’s green milk tea that I got earlier this summer (green tea β‰  matcha), getting the matcha latte instead made me forgive the establishment’s gaffe a few months ago. Did I mention that my drink was super green? Artificially-flavored or not, it was quite pretty (and delicious!).

Matcha latte with boba.
Matcha latte with boba.

Later in August, my family and I went out for breakfast one weekday to our local pancake house (not IHOP, if that’s what you were thinking). It had been a long while since we’ve last went, and so I was super eager to order my favorite, chocolate-chip pancakes, to feast on. Comes in a total of six dense, but fluffy pancakes, topped with chocolate chips that melt from the warmth of the ‘cakes themselves on which you can smother them with maple syrup and the massive dollop of whipped cream that comes with them. Now this is what the American Dream looks like! πŸ˜‰

Chocolate-chip pancakes!
Chocolate-chip pancakes!

Earlier this month, I went out to a nearby Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf for work (I tutor clients in English), and while tutoring my client, I noticed that the coffee shop was selling pumpkin lattes, since fall was just around the corner. Had a gift card for the store, so why not give it a try? I bought it, took a sip, and was immediately turned off: aside from a very-subtle pumpkin aftertaste (really, I could barely taste it), the whole thing just tasted like regular coffee, which I really don’t like (more of a tea person, actually). Perhaps it was because I didn’t go to Starbucks to get the pumpkin spice latte, but in any case, I was let down from all of the hype around this autumn-based concoction. Maybe I’ll need to go to Starbucks to get it instead…maybe that’ll be my next food adventure!

Finally, my family and I went out on Thursday night for some more yangnyeom chicken, aka Korean fried chicken. It had been a while since I’d eaten it, and I was glad to get the extra crispy and tender chicken pieces for a simple, but delicious dinner! πŸ™‚

On Saturday, I had a lunch date with an old college friend; we hit up a vegan/vegetarian joint in town. We’re neither vegans nor vegetarians by any means, but the place serves pretty good non-meat dishes. Although a bit pricey, it was nevertheless pretty tasty! I ordered a “chickin” avocado club sandwich with sweet potato fries, which was more than enough! I was super full afterwards, and getting boba afterwards certainly didn’t help! πŸ˜›

The following week, I decided to go to Starbucks and try its Pumpkin Spice Latte, or “PSL” for short. I know that it’s considered a “basic white girl drink” and that I had the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf version just a couple of weeks ago (and didn’t like it), but decided to try it again, albeit at a different coffee shop. I got it, and I have to say while it tasted similarly to Coffee Bean’s, it wasn’t too bad! Definitely was warm and woke me up for morning tutoring, so that was a plus! Now I can say that I’ve tried the famous PSL in the States! πŸ˜‰

Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks.
Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks.

…and that’s about it for me! This will probably be my last food adventure post from Los Angeles, as other things will be happening very soon in that I, well, won’t be in the city anymore. A bit sad, but things are changing just like the season, but I’ll be sure to provide you more food adventures wherever I go. Bon appΓ©tit! πŸ˜›

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

12 thoughts on “A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 6)!

  1. Pingback: A Week in Los Angeles (Food Edition, Part 7)! – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

