I’m *Officially* Back! (and life update in France)

Hello, there!

Yes, as you can tell by the title of this post, I am finally back on WordPress after a long, one-month absence from blogging. Granted, I’d popped in two weeks ago to publish this post about my crazy Internet situation (i.e. I had no Internet where I was living), but other than that, I hadn’t been publishing regularly on this blog since my departure back in September.

…and I tell you, it feels so good to be back!!! 😀

True, even though I hadn’t been posting stuff for one month, I still did my best to pop in from time to time to read and comment on some of your posts, if you’d noticed that. Really, my love for blogging couldn’t hold me back from trying to find ways to connect to the Internet, from using my school’s computers to bumming off Wifi from hotspots to mobile data. When there’s a will, there’s a way.

It also surprised me that, despite being off WordPress for quite some time, I somehow continued to gained followers on my blog; seriously, I’ve gained an additional 40 to 50 followers during my inactivity- it’s crazy! Nevertheless, to those who’ve recently decided to follow me, welcome all the same!

Any case, life update here in France: my flight over went smoothly, as well as the train ride over to my town in Normandy and getting settled into my flat; it helped that I’d been in contact with my colleagues beforehand to have a smooth transition!

Since this is my second year teaching in France, I have a better idea of what to expect in terms of administrative stuff, and so far have been doing well with that. That said, though, things are still different compared to last year’s: I’m in a different town, teaching at a different school, and living in a different flat. I can say that this year’s town is bigger than that from last year, as well as the school I’ll be teaching in, but funny enough, my flat’s definitely smaller and more limited than the previous year. Admittedly, I shouldn’t be complaining, but I really was spoiled last year, so standards have been short-ended. Any case, I’m making do with it, and am okay with the situation (plus, it’s not expensive!).

Another different is that I’m actually not alone this year; I was alone last year in my small town, which I think made things quite hard for me. This year, there are nine of us living in the same building/flat, and we’re from all over the world: the U.S., Canada, England, Spain, Mexico, even Germany! We all speak French with each other, and so far, it’s been proving to work wonders on improving my conversation skills (let alone in a non-native language!). We’ve also gotten pretty close with each other and have had a few house parties on the weekends; some of us even did a bit of traveling together around the region!

I haven’t started teaching at my school yet, but I’ve been doing my observations for the last two weeks in which I just became acquainted with the staff, students, and everything in between. Everyone is really nice, and my hope is that I can be a “better version” of myself this time around and not let my intense anxiety and timidity get in the way of establishing relationships, as well as being an effective English teacher.

The Internet situation in my flat was probably the only rough part of getting settled this year; I’ll spare you the details, but essentially, it was a long battle of finding a good Internet plan from different companies, negotiating and acquiring an Internet box (took us three tries, by the way), and installing it only to find out that the building’s cable wires were out of line, and so we had to ask a technician to come in and tweak the wires until we could finally use the Internet, which just happened earlier this week. Thank god!

I’m currently on my first two-week vacation from teaching (although technically I haven’t started teaching, but whatever…). I spent this past weekend visiting the coast of Normandy, which I’ll write about in later posts, but other than that, I’m back in my flat in my small town and won’t be doing any more traveling this time around. Basically, it comes down to getting my Master’s degree and money to pay for that, so I need to save. While I would love to plan a grand, international trip somewhere in Europe (like I did last year around this same time, to Belgium and Prague), I’ll need to hold off on it for a while until I complete my degree and save up more money in the meantime. At least I got to have a short getaway this time, though!

In any case, that’s about it for now. Again, I’m so glad to finally have stable Internet and to be back on WordPress. I can’t believe it’s almost November, too- where did the time go? I promise that regular posts will be coming in the next few days, so be sure to look out for them!

With that said, I hope that you’re doing well and until later, take care! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

5 thoughts on “I’m *Officially* Back! (and life update in France)

  1. Yayyyyy! I am so so glad you are back! 🙂 I feel like most people fall off the charts when the fall rolls around so I am very glad it is the opposite in this case ! Sounds so busy, but also like you are enjoying the transition?! You have some amazing travels as well. Traveling to Europe is my dream, I have never been! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

    1. Thanks! It feels so good to be back blogging! Trust me, it was difficult not to blog this past month, but I’m excited to be back on track. Things have been pretty good otherwise, and I will definitely keep you updated about my adventures in Europe. Take care!

Leave a Reply

