Every Day – Rascal Flatts (SSJ #32)

Happy Sunday, folks!

It’s been over a month since my last “Sunday Slow Jam,” but for now, it’s back! I thought that I would take you back a bit in time to 2008 with this heart-tugging single from the country band Rascal Flatts.

Now usually, I’m not one for country music; I’m aware that many American (even non-Americans) out there love the genre, but for me, it’s just personal taste that I don’t enjoy it. However, this song, “Every Day,” does a nice job of blending country with pop, and so I actually quite like it.

It’s hard to imagine that this song came out eight years ago; I was in high school back then, and musically-speaking, I was in that awkward, transitioning phase from the preteen-Disney Channel hits to a more, pop, alternative-based sound with artists like Coldplay and Sara Bareilles (both of whom I still enjoy listening to today).

Any case, I came across Rascal Flatts’ “Every Day,” and for me, being a sucker for uplifting songs, fell in love with it. Although parts of the lyrics are a bit of a downer, it’s the chorus of “every day…/you save my life” that brings back the hope and happiness that never ceases to brighten up your day, whether good or bad.

Give it a listen, will you? I’ll do my best to resume a regular routine of “Sunday Slow Jams” every week, so make sure to look out for them! Have a good rest of the weekend, bloggers. 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

Leave a Reply

