Shape Of My Heart – Backstreet Boys (SSJ #34)

Happy Sunday, all! 🙂

For this week’s “Sunday Slow Jams,” I’m really taking you back, this time to the 90’s when the whole boy band rivalry between the Backstreet Boys and ‘NSYNC were all the rage.

Really, those were the days that both bands battled it out for the affection and loyalty of millions of preteen and teenage girls out there, all over the world. Although I was very young back then to have really cared about choosing sides, nevertheless they were an integral part of my childhood.

Any case, I’ve decided to share one of my favorite songs from one of them with you, a song which I consider to be one of the Backstreet Boys’ best hits ever. With its tender, guitar stanzas, thumping, heartbeat-like bass, and crescendo-ing chorus, “Shape of my Heart” still gets me every time, even over fifteen years later (it was released back in 2000; can you believe it’s been that long?!).

While the lyrics are not much different from other songs about love and forgiveness, it’s the musical production and vocal harmony that make this a memorable song for me. Again, I am not choosing sides between the Backstreet Boys-‘NSYNC rivalry, as I enjoy both, but I can say that I prefer the former’s harmonies over the latter’s, although really, Justin Timberlake (‘NSYNC) has my heart. ❤

In any case, I really do enjoy “Shape of my Heart,” as I think it’s a good song to put on for a quiet weekend evening brooding over your love, but also having hope that things will turn out all right, as I interpreted in the up-rise of the song’s melody and tone towards the end of it. Really, the feels…nostalgia does take you back over a decade- it’s incredible!

Do you enjoy this song? Are you more team Backstreet or team ‘NSYNC? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

One thought on “Shape Of My Heart – Backstreet Boys (SSJ #34)

  1. Pingback: Zenon Z3 – Out Of This World (SSJ #35) – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a Reply

