A Favorite Poem (Issue #19)

Hello, bloggers!

Welcome to this month’s “A Favorite Poem” issue, in which I share my currently-obsessed poem with you. Today’s will be slightly different, for it is a video recording of spoken-word poet Fatimah Asghar’s “Monophobia: The Fear of Being Alone.”

Really, this spoken-word poem, along with the poet herself, is brilliant. Chilling, but absolutely brilliant nonetheless. Aghar effortlessly assumes the mindset of a madman- crazy, but also worth sympathy. Lines like “Those boys / don’t say I don’t love them / I keep them close to me / chop them down to pieces myself /… don’t say I don’t love them those boys” are at once unsettling and tender, as we explore the psychology behind the farmer who raped and murdered those boys in his barn.

Granted, the poem was disturbing to say the least, but it was one of those works that just completely captivates you, to the point that you want to look away but you can’t. Or rather try not to imagine it, but you still do anyway. Asghar’s voice, soft but precise, does not shy away from telling the gruesome story, and her words really hit you hard in the feels at the end: “I wished that someone / had been so kind / to me.” Those last words tie up the loose ends surrounding the whole monologue, as means of showing just how lonely and scared the farmer was of being alone without the boys, hence the “monophobia” in the title.

I encourage you to listen to the poem when you can! Really, Asghar is one of my favorite modern poets today; I also wrote a post analyzing another of her works a while back, which you can check out here.

Any case, enjoy your day! 🙂

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

One thought on “A Favorite Poem (Issue #19)

Leave a Reply

