3 Years on WordPress!

Hello, bloggers!

Yes, this exact day, December 29th, marks my three-year blogiversary on WordPress. Having made and published my first ever blog post in the last few days of the 2013 year, The Finicky Cynic has since grown to over 800 posts, almost 1700 followers, and countless of random rants and reflections, poetry, and travel stories from the intricacies of my brain.

As I’ve said before in the previous blogiversaries from last year and the year before, I would’ve never imagined my blog to be where it is today. Looking back, it surprises me at how my thoughts have changed, in terms of what I posted back then and now. From random musings about my college existence to my crazy, travel adventures after graduation, this blog not only is a keepsake of my personal development over these years, but also is a virtual safe space for helping me grow and mature into who I am today.

When I first created this blog, I was still in college, a new-minted twenty year old who had just switched from a science to English literature major and was still in the process of figuring things out at the start of my twenty-something career. Fast forward three years later and, while I’m still figuring things out, I can say that I have a clearer idea of what I want to do in the next few years.

This is not to say that I know what I want to do for the rest of my life, because let’s face it, things change and we, as people, change. My dreams and aspirations back in high school are nothing like the ones that I have today, and who knows if in the next five, ten years will they still remain? People want so desperately to know exactly what’s their purpose in life, but really, I believe that’s a dead-end way of thinking: the point is to search for it, as we’re constantly figuring things out even when we’re in our forties and have already settled down with a home, a family, and a 9-to-5 job. Our interests are constantly evolving, and so I believe that we shouldn’t be so definitive, so tied-down in one aspect of life, since there’s so much to see out there in this 360-degree world.

…that got way too deep for a simple post on my three-year blogiversary. Maybe it’s just the end-of-the-year reflections, the existential crisis hitting me as I’m writing this. I have no plans of stopping this blog anytime soon, as I really believe that it has really helped me become not only a better writer, but also a more reflective, patient, and interestingly, a more outgoing person. This blog is for me to put myself out there without feeling as if I need to censor myself, as well as to establish friendships with other bloggers and read about their perspectives and writing styles, which always amaze me. The bloggers whom I’ve talked to and even formed friendships outside of WordPress are nothing but precious to me, and I thank you all for your happiness and support (you know who you are!).

Thanks once again for everything, and here’s to another year of more blogging! Have a wonderful holiday season (and soon-to-be New Year!). Take care. πŸ™‚

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

28 thoughts on “3 Years on WordPress!

      1. Yes, thank you! Unfortunately, will only be free after 23rd of Jan as I’m travelling a bit in between. Hope to Skype with you after that! πŸ™‚

  1. Congratulations! It is interesting how time can fly. This is one of the best “wrap-ups” I have read, I loved the personal touch to it and you captured perfectly why blogging is such a great thing to do. Wish you all the best for the future years to come and more fun with your blog!

  2. pizzaatmidnight

    Congratulations! I remember when I read one of your posts for the first time and I was instantly hooked. And with us being in a similar stage in life I related so much to the things you wrote about. I’ve enjoyed your rants and musings. I’ve been inspired by your journeys and growth. I’m looking forward to more posts! πŸ™‚

    1. Aw, thank you! Yes, I think it’s great that we’re doing similar things and living them to the fullest. I always look forward to your posts as well. Take care!

Leave a Reply

