The Chainsmokers- Paris (SSJ #40)

Happy Sunday, folks!

Today’s “Sunday Slow Jam” is that of the Chainsmokers’ most-recent track single “Paris,” which came out just a couple of weeks ago. You can give it a listen down below.

Now, to be honest with you, I didn’t like the song at first; I found it a bit bland, since unlike with the other the Chainsmokers’ works, this one didn’t have much of a notable buildup to feel anything with. And the fact that Drew Taggart (one-half of the music duo) had lent his vocals once again to it (the other being the summer 2016 smash hit “Closer”) despite the fact that, well, he can’t sing, made it a rather safe, disappointing song to start off the new year with.

However, even though I still wouldn’t say that “Paris” is close to being one of my favorite songs from the Chainsmokers, I admit that it has grown on me after a few more listens. While I do agree with music critics that the sounds is too familiar to that of other alternative, chilled-out jams out there (can’t pinpoint one right now, but I’m sure you’ve heard of some before), nevertheless the wistfulness of it all definitely highlights the title of its song (“paris: 1. a sentimental yearning for a reality that isn’t genuine 2. an irrecoverable condition for fantasy that evokes nostalgia or day dreams”). It’s light and breezy, all the while reflecting a deeper sense of knowing that this “yearning” and “nostalgia” only manifests in temporary moments, which leave you craving it even more afterwards. Plus, considering the fact that I was just in Paris last weekend, it made it all the more apropos for me!

Let me know what you think of this song. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

3 thoughts on “The Chainsmokers- Paris (SSJ #40)

      1. A Hearty Nomad

        U agree?! Great. I ve listened to it three times now, just to give it a few more chances. Still think instrumental is better. 🙈 Anyway it has something!

Leave a Reply

