My Childhood: K-Pop Music

Greetings, bloggers!

Now, although my childhood happened not so long ago, I’m starting to realize that it’s becoming a fading memory nowadays: from the school teachers that I’ve had to the friends whom I’d made (and lost contact with over the years), it’s kind of alarming that their names and faces are beginning to escape my mind.

The same goes for music: just the other day, I was on Youtube and for some reason the name of a K-pop song from eight years ago popped up in my head. I typed it into the search engine and before I knew it, I was listening to the song and living my past childhood self. Not sure if there’s an exact word to pinpoint what my feelings were, but I would have to say that it felt great.

It’s funny, because really, I wasn’t such a huge K-pop fan back in the day (nor am I now, still). If anything, it was my sister who tried getting me into the genre since she was such a fan of it. Although I did give it a try and found a few songs that were pretty good, my love for K-pop never really did manifest itself. Still to this day, I’m pretty “meh” about it.

…so why write a post about my favorite K-pop songs? Even though it wasn’t necessarily my most favorite genre to listen to, surprisingly it ended up becoming a memorable part of my childhood, particularly during my teenage years. Some songs continue to remain in my head even after all of these years, infectious ear-worm and everything.

I’ve decided to list a few songs which continue to stay with me to this day. You will seeΒ that they are no less than five years old, which amazes me just how much time has passed by! Frankly, I don’t know what there is anymore in the K-pop world, so otherwise, here are my favorite picks!

1. I Hope (FT Island).

2. LA chA TA (f(x)).

3. The Boys (Girls Generation).

4. 10 out of 10 (2pm).

5. Ring Ding Dong (SHINee).

6. HUH (4Minute).

What are some of your favorite K-pop songs, old or new? Let me know!

— The Finicky Cynic

Check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/thefinickycynic

18 thoughts on “My Childhood: K-Pop Music

  1. OMG K-Pop was a huge part of my high school life, and although I don’t spend as much time listening to/keeping up with it now, there are some really good artists and songs out there! I would definitely recommend Dean, Jay Park and BTS for artists, and then Monster (by EXO), Why So Lonely (by Wonder Girls), Bermuda Triangle (Zico) and Rain (by Taeyeon) for individual songs. Also, f(x)’s newer stuff is πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―!

  2. Damn, while I wasn’t into Kpop that much ( I was more into Visual Kei and Jpop ahah) I absolutely loved FT Island especially the song you posted, brings back so many memories so thanks for the post πŸ˜€

  3. I got into Kpop in early 2015 by CHANCE. I was bored so I thought why not check out pretty Asian boys? I was cringe-ing so hard at first, but then, something happened and BAM! I’m still stuck in the kpop world. I started with Shinee, moved on to many many groups, and now finally, found mu ultimate group that is BTS πŸ™‚ I was a bit hesitant because I was new and I knew about the whole companies and it all seemed like some glittery business without any passion. But after hearing BTS’ stories and the fact that they write/produce their own music, I fell in love.
    BTW- did you check out “Cave Me In” by Gallant, Tablo and Eric Nam?! It’s amazing!!

  4. Pingback: My Childhood: 2000’s Music – The Finicky Cynic

  5. Pingback: TAEYEON νƒœμ—° – Fine (SSJ #47) – The Finicky Cynic

  6. I like the third generation era the best! (I would say HOT era1, TVXQ era2)
    Not so much groups and they start to build International kpop fans, miss it so much as shawol TT

Leave a Reply

